Sawmill Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tamara Revis
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
i just made this gravy along with some biscuits and it was absolutly wonderful. The only adjustment i made was to cut the amount of sausage in half. 5 stars for this very very good sausage gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was a very good recipe, even though I didn't have green onions for it. I just substituted regular onion. And then served on a plate of grits, ground beef, and eggs. Soooo Gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My boyfriend loved this gravy! Goes perfectly with biscuits and fried eggs for a hearty splurge of a breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Not too bad. I left out the salt cause I always season to taste and I found it salty enough. When my dad had it he said it was like the gravy that was served in a few of the work camps in the 30's. He said it was tasty stick to your ribs good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I grew up on this, but had forgotten about it until I saw your recipe Lloyd. I cooked the onion a little before adding the flour. The whole key to making this is to be patient with the flour and let it brown. If the flour isn't brown, it won't be sawmill gravy! When the gravy was thickened to my liking, I just added the crumbled sausage to it, spooned it over homemade biscuits, and topped each biscuit with a fried egg. Thanks for the memories! My Dad was a cook in the army and he made this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
You can't go wrong with pork fat. Pay attention, and a secret my Grandma taught me. When it bubbles as big as hog eyes, its done (not to thick,not to thin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Rice
Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This is close to what my grandmother made and it did bring back memories of the good ole days. It really isn't that much different than other gravy recipes. The biggest difference is the browning of the flour. For breakfast Grandma would make this six days a week and on Sunday she would make white gravy. Thanks for the memories Lloyd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Easy, excellent, a classic. I would suggest, however, eliminating the salt from the recipe. The sausage (or the bisquits the gravy will eventally top) typically have plenty of sodium already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
Overall good recipe. I would use approx 1/4 cup flour and 1 cup of milk and 1/2 lb sausage. Making the was as it appears in the recipe it is very thick and too much sausage. I will make again with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
4 out of 5 only because I didn't use pork. I started with butter and cooked some chopped mushrooms and onion, then followed recipe for gravy. I've always had trouble getting my white gravy to the right thickness. Even without the pork, it totally hit the spot over some egg on fresh biscuits. I also used more pepper, but that's personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States