Sawdust Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
I made this to serve at a potluck. The recipe was not too clear. When adding hot water to the gelatin powder, no amount of water was given. Since there were 2 packages of jello I used a total of 4 cups of water. I think there were too many marshmallows. Half the amount would be plenty. I heated the jello, added the marshmallows and melted them. The topping was very good but had a tendency to "slide" when the salad was cut into squares. The overall taste was good. I would make it again but with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was good, but I would make a few changes next time. Our family uses cheese instead of coconut (like others mentioned). I think doubling the custard would be great, and halving the marshmallows. Definitely worth trying - it took me years to taste it and now I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
I made this because I wanted a different jello salad for a Sunday dinner. It was totally awesome. Worth the effort. My family loved it. Thanks for the recipe, Diana. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
WOW!! Very good recipe--My recipe is exactly like this one, but omits the banana, and instead of coconut, adds shredded cheddar cheese on top..Will try this version soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
My church has an annual fundaiser luncheon, and I made this salad for the most recent one. Everyone asked for the recipe; one lady even called me at work to ask if I was the one who had prepared it. My husband is NOT a jello person; he loves it and has asked for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I was looking for something different to do with Jell-O and found this recipe. The first time I made it I followed directions exactly, everyone loved it. Its a little time comsuming, but worth the effort. The second time I used only orange Jell-0 and I liked it even better. I've even experimented by using orange soda in place of the water for the Jell-o. Thanks for the great recipe Diana :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I had to throw most of this dish away...my family didn't like it. The ingredients just don't go together...it was an odd combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
I made this salad to take to someone's house on Christmas and it was a huge hit. The blend of orange and lemon jello results in a tangerine flavor. I would cut the amount of miniture marshmallows in half in the future and I used real Whipping cream in place of the powdered cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Good. I use the juice reserved from draining the crushed pineapple and top off with shredded cheddar cheese instead of coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOT72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jerseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
Made this for the first time 12/02 - My 23 yr. old daughter, who usually dislikes 'chunks' in desserts, LOVED this and keeps asking for it. The only change I made was to substitute Cool Whip for the Dream Whip. Thanks for a uniquely flavored new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States