Sawdust Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
I made this salad to take to someone's house on Christmas and it was a huge hit. The blend of orange and lemon jello results in a tangerine flavor. I would cut the amount of miniture marshmallows in half in the future and I used real Whipping cream in place of the powdered cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
I made this to serve at a potluck. The recipe was not too clear. When adding hot water to the gelatin powder, no amount of water was given. Since there were 2 packages of jello I used a total of 4 cups of water. I think there were too many marshmallows. Half the amount would be plenty. I heated the jello, added the marshmallows and melted them. The topping was very good but had a tendency to "slide" when the salad was cut into squares. The overall taste was good. I would make it again but with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
My church has an annual fundaiser luncheon, and I made this salad for the most recent one. Everyone asked for the recipe; one lady even called me at work to ask if I was the one who had prepared it. My husband is NOT a jello person; he loves it and has asked for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
I made this because I wanted a different jello salad for a Sunday dinner. It was totally awesome. Worth the effort. My family loved it. Thanks for the recipe, Diana. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
WOW!! Very good recipe--My recipe is exactly like this one, but omits the banana, and instead of coconut, adds shredded cheddar cheese on top..Will try this version soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
Made this for the first time 12/02 - My 23 yr. old daughter, who usually dislikes 'chunks' in desserts, LOVED this and keeps asking for it. The only change I made was to substitute Cool Whip for the Dream Whip. Thanks for a uniquely flavored new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I had to throw most of this dish away...my family didn't like it. The ingredients just don't go together...it was an odd combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I was looking for something different to do with Jell-O and found this recipe. The first time I made it I followed directions exactly, everyone loved it. Its a little time comsuming, but worth the effort. The second time I used only orange Jell-0 and I liked it even better. I've even experimented by using orange soda in place of the water for the Jell-o. Thanks for the great recipe Diana :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was good, but I would make a few changes next time. Our family uses cheese instead of coconut (like others mentioned). I think doubling the custard would be great, and halving the marshmallows. Definitely worth trying - it took me years to taste it and now I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Good. I use the juice reserved from draining the crushed pineapple and top off with shredded cheddar cheese instead of coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOT72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jerseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States