Savory Venison Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I think I might have finally found a good recipe for venison meatloaf. I'd been trying to use ground beef recipes, but they just never worked for the low fat venison. Did recipe as directed, but added chopped green peppers bc I had to get rid of them. The flavor was fantastic, but I'll skip the peppers next time. The sauce on top was way too thick and the bacon I used didn't get crispy, so I'd skip that, too. I used spicy baby rays BBQ sauce, which may have added to the thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Thank you for this awesome recipe. I made this last night and my husband, who loves but is a very picky meatloaf eater, said this was the best he's ever had. He wants me to make it again tonight. I didn't change anything about this recipe except that I used bread crumbs instead of crackers because I didn't have crackers on hand. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My husband enjoyed this. I didn't really like it too much, but I did alter the recipe by adding about a handful of breakfast sausage because I didn't have any bacon to put over the top. Will try again with bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pbee
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was a really great and simple recipe for venison. I switched out the white onions for red onions and coated the top with the sauce 2/3 the way through. This really solidified the taste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Best recipe for venison. Very flavorful, even my picky eater (husband) liked it. I used dry onion soup mix for the onion flavor instead of chopped onions(husband won't eat onions). I was also out of bacon and used saved bacon drippings drizzled over the top while it cooked. We both hunt and this is a great use for the ground deer meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It took twice as long in the oven but it is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
best ever yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was an excellent way to cook venison. When a family member shoots a deer there is a lot of meat to use and this will be a keeper. I doubled the main recipe but not the sauce and then served the sauce on the side rather than slathered on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was an AMAZING recipe!! I have never cooked venison before and this was delicious and easy!! I replaced the crackers with half a cup of dried bread crumbs only because I didn't have saltines. Would highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Yummy, Moist and Tasty Made this tonight with 2 pounds of venison sausage, 1 hot and 1 sweet. Wasn't sure what to expect as we usually put ketchup in our meat loaf. I added a 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar too. Delicious! The BBQ sauce and brown sugar gave just a hint of sweetness. I didn't make the sauce because we are not sauce people but the recipe is divine and a keeper. Thanks...we have lots of ground venison and will be making this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Buttermilk Meatloaf

Discover what a touch of buttermilk can do for your meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States