Savory Vegetable Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Great, easy recipe. I skipped the bay leaf, and used beef broth instead of the water + bouillon, but followed the recipe exactly otherwise. Lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Best stew I have ever made. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Best stew I ever had! Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My family agreed that this indeed is the best tasting stew we have ever eaten. I followed the suggestion to use celery instead of the green pepper and monkeyed around with the spices very slightly - no bay leaf but used parsley and added some sage. Blessings to you Jaime5025 for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Wonderful! It turned out nice and spicy because I put a lot of black pepper in it.. I will make this often! While making this recipe, I learned how to combine a tomato and beef base, as well as how to thicken a base with flour and water. I added another bay leaf, and the flavors ended up being delicious, although spicy and sinus clearing... probably due to my putting a little too much black pepper in everything... I regret not having a green pepper on hand to add to this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by king james
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Didn't change anything. Flavorful and hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great recipe. I make a few adjustments like adding canned green beans and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This has been my go-to stew recipe for several years. The gravy has a little more kick to it than a traditional beef stew gravy due to the tomatoes and oregano. I omit the green pepper and substitute a cup of peas at the end of the cooking time and let the stew simmer another 5 minutes. I've also substituted tomato paste and some red wine for the tomato sauce with excellent results! Try this recipe - you won't be sorry. Serve with some delicious rolls or bread and add a little more liquid to the pot if you're family enjoys sopping up lots of gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
No changes, I make it just as the recipe calls for. This is a favorite with 2/3 kids at our house. My littlest calls it 'Merida Stew' since we like to eat it with crusty bread, by candlelight, and pretend we are in medieval times. Has a great taste and we love it in the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a delicious stew! The flavor was very robust but not overpowering. I will definitely be adding it to our winter rotation of foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennpophoo
Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States