Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I was not super impressed with this recipe. It had a really great taste, but the flour would not spread throughout the gravy. It ended up being really clumpy, no matter what I did to remedy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Was not inmpressed with this gravy despite having made my own turkey stock and added some of the pan drippings. I thought this would really be tasty. The poutry seasoning was much too strong and the gravy would not thicken without adding a lot of corn starch. I'll stick with my old standby next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
When prepared as instructed it was WAY too thin, so I added extra flour but couldn't never get it even throughout the gravy, even after using a blender on high speed. The taste was ok, it just looked really disgusting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I didnt measure the exact drippings, but used the outline of the recipe for my gravy. It was great - will definitely use again. I left out the salt, as I brined my turkey and the drippings were plenty salty. I just used the flour, water,drippings, and poultry seasoning and it worked great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This has a nice flavor but I had to add corn starch to get the gravy to thicken properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMVA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Loved the taste of this when done, however I had a problem with getting it to thicken(not sure where it went wrong), so I wound up adding quite a bit extra flour to it. Will keep and do again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
The seasonings are great! I didn't have turkey stock, so I used chicken broth, and I used pan drippings instead of water (you have to cook the pan drippings and flour first, THEN gradually stir in the broth, somewhat backwards from what this recipe calls for!). 5 cups was a bit much so I only used 3 cups or so. You can always add more broth if you like your gravy thin. The poultry seasoning makes all the difference... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe is very delicious! At first it was too thin like the other users said. But we added more "flour-water" and let it boil a little longer. My whole family was so amazed that I was able to make gravy that wasn't a flop, and not only that but was awesome! Every single person made a comment on how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMCLEOD08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Way too thin. The taste was fine but it was so watery that we didn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Everyone at Thanksgiving dinner said this was a very good gravy except that it was too thin...I think that was my fault. I've never been able to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States