Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Okay, readers, I know you came here looking for something to "make that "special" gravy", but this ones a good place to start anyway. Its basic, its easy, it doesn't take anything away from the bird, and the whole family (those that love gravy with their meals, anyway) are sure to love. You simply cannot go wrong with this one. Rate it a 5 for yourself, however, keep in mind that the less amount of stress in preparation of this recipe, means that your going to have a better time entertaining and not being "the maid". Thanks again, Veronica, for bringing this one back! Its a keeper! Cheers! CM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
The seasonings are great! I didn't have turkey stock, so I used chicken broth, and I used pan drippings instead of water (you have to cook the pan drippings and flour first, THEN gradually stir in the broth, somewhat backwards from what this recipe calls for!). 5 cups was a bit much so I only used 3 cups or so. You can always add more broth if you like your gravy thin. The poultry seasoning makes all the difference... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I have never been able to make decent gravy of any kind...this recipe is wonderful! I make it ahead of time & then add the "drippings" from the pan in which the turkey was roasted. I use a gravy skimmer or a grease mop to get most of the fat out of the drippings. It is especially good after it has been refrigerated for a day or so to let the rest of the grease rise to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
So easy and it was nicely seasoned...and the best part? NO LUMPS. By mixing the flour with water ahead of time and just pouring it into the boiling stock...perfect! I did need to increase the flour a bit since we like thick gravy. I'm not going to fuss with pan drippings again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Learned my lesson on this one. Stick with regular cornstarch gravy - didn't turn out well. Not well liked at my dinner. I made two gravies, this one and a vegetarian gravy and guess one was eaten (give you a hint - not this one)....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Not as good as the real thing, but I ran out of gravy before the turkey was half gone and this recipe filled in just fine. Will use again if the need arises - and it always seems to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Everyone at Thanksgiving dinner said this was a very good gravy except that it was too thin...I think that was my fault. I've never been able to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This has a nice flavor but I had to add corn starch to get the gravy to thicken properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMVA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
tHIS gRaVyy Is wwaAAY tO gOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I made this for thanksgiving 2 years in a row it was very tastey. i had to add more flour though and it takes a lil' longer to thicken like gravy but again it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmtat10204

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Amherst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States