Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I didnt measure the exact drippings, but used the outline of the recipe for my gravy. It was great - will definitely use again. I left out the salt, as I brined my turkey and the drippings were plenty salty. I just used the flour, water,drippings, and poultry seasoning and it worked great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This has a nice flavor but I had to add corn starch to get the gravy to thicken properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMVA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Loved the taste of this when done, however I had a problem with getting it to thicken(not sure where it went wrong), so I wound up adding quite a bit extra flour to it. Will keep and do again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
The seasonings are great! I didn't have turkey stock, so I used chicken broth, and I used pan drippings instead of water (you have to cook the pan drippings and flour first, THEN gradually stir in the broth, somewhat backwards from what this recipe calls for!). 5 cups was a bit much so I only used 3 cups or so. You can always add more broth if you like your gravy thin. The poultry seasoning makes all the difference... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe is very delicious! At first it was too thin like the other users said. But we added more "flour-water" and let it boil a little longer. My whole family was so amazed that I was able to make gravy that wasn't a flop, and not only that but was awesome! Every single person made a comment on how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMCLEOD08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Way too thin. The taste was fine but it was so watery that we didn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Everyone at Thanksgiving dinner said this was a very good gravy except that it was too thin...I think that was my fault. I've never been able to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Learned my lesson on this one. Stick with regular cornstarch gravy - didn't turn out well. Not well liked at my dinner. I made two gravies, this one and a vegetarian gravy and guess one was eaten (give you a hint - not this one)....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Used it last year and everyone loved it! Looking for similar results this year..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Okay, readers, I know you came here looking for something to "make that "special" gravy", but this ones a good place to start anyway. Its basic, its easy, it doesn't take anything away from the bird, and the whole family (those that love gravy with their meals, anyway) are sure to love. You simply cannot go wrong with this one. Rate it a 5 for yourself, however, keep in mind that the less amount of stress in preparation of this recipe, means that your going to have a better time entertaining and not being "the maid". Thanks again, Veronica, for bringing this one back! Its a keeper! Cheers! CM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States