Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I gathered up all my recipes for thanksgiving off this website and while I was cooking, realized I didn't think about the gravy. I am a decent cook, but not one to really use recipes much, unless we're trying something new. I was confused by all the recipes said turkey drippings and I had a lot of broth and whatnot in my turkey, didn't know how to figure out what was the "drippings", lol. This recipe saved me since it said to use the stock, followed the recipe just like it said, but added a little more flour based on other reviews. The gravy turned out DELICIOUS! I will definately keep this in my recipe box and make it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I have never been able to make gravy from scratch until I tried this recipe this year! The only problem I had was getting it to thicken up, but I added more flour and some cornstarch, as suggested by other reviewers. But after that, the whole family loved it and it tasted great! Thanks for helping me get over my string of gravy disasters :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This gravy recipe isnt the best.... the flavor was too bold and salty...Maybe Ill try the recipe but cut the poultry seasoning in half and not bother adding the salt at all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I never made gravy and was assigned to make this for a potluck. I didn't have turkey stock, so I used chicken stock. I'm sure the flavor was a little different, but this came together pretty nicely considering the substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Never have been able to make a good gravy, this was really good, especially if you don't want to bother with roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The recipe as is was very bland. That is all I have to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Not as thick as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This recipe was not good. The seasoning was fine, but wasn't anything special. However the consistency was that of water. Having never successfully made gravy before I thought this would be a great and easy recipe. I was wrong. After it turning out horribly I started looking through the 5 star reviews to see that all of them that I read had made alteration to make it a 5 star recipe. There should be a review place for alteration and for reviewers that used the recipe exactly or with minor adjustments. If it is not a 5 star recipe without changes then don't rate it that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I just didn't think this had very much flavor. I used turkey drippings for the stock and maybe that was the problem? This was a really easy and fast recipe if you need to make gravy in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Definately needed more flour to thicken the gravy. Not a big hit at the dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States