Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I added a teaspoon of onion powder too. I've finally made a gravy I'm proud of. Thanks Veronica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This was the easist gravy I have ever made, my family loves it , they keep asking me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Tasty low fat gravy after adjusting thickener. Before I even read the reviews, I knew there must be an error in the recipe. There is no way one fourth cup of flour will thicken 6 cups of liquid. The normal proportion is 2 Tablespoons flour, or 1 Tablespoon cornstarch, per cup of liquid. So, I used 6 tablespoons of cornstarch and I was pleased with the result. Instead of putting the cornstarch in the one cup of water, I used one cup of cold broth. I did not want to water down the flavor of the gravy. I was very happy to have a tasty gravy with no fat. You may also want to adjust the salt. If you are using bouillon, or canned broth, you probably do not need to add any salt. I would recommend making this without salt and adding later if you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
741 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Had to add extra flour to thicken up. But good tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I added a little extra flour to thicken it more. It's a very easy recipe and makes excellent gravy. I'll experiment with different herbs, but this one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Just tried this for the first time, and it was wonderful AND easy! I had to use more flour than in the recipe, though. If you plan to use drippings from the turkey for stock, put plenty of water in the pan with the turkey and skim it very well. My gravy wasn't the slightest bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Fabulous gravy! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Osawatomie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was my first Thanksgiving married and my family had no idea I could cook! Thanks for the help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This is a great basic gravy recipe, that's super easy to make, and pretty foolproof. It is too thin for my taste, and I used an extra 2 tbsp of flour for a half recipe. It did thicken up at the table, though, and the flavor was really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
this is my thanksgiving gravy for all time.i made the turkey stock the day before which enabled me to make the gravy before my guests arrived.no last minute craziness.it's the best tasting gravy i've ever made!thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States