Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Way to salty!!!! and I love salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oxford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Nothing was right about this gravy. It was too runny, too light in color and little bitter for me. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I tried this the day before Thanksgiving using canned turkey broth. What a mistake! There is no substitute for making gravy with genuine pan drippings (which took me less time than opening all those cans). Also, proportions seemed off. Too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I can never make good gravy until this recipe!!!! Very easy and great taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This made excellent gravy for Thanksgiving! I made several changes after reading some of the top reviews. I reserved 1 cup of water when I drained my potatoes. Mixed 6 tablespoons of cornstarch into the 1 cup of potato water. Meanwhile I added 1 cup of my turkey drippings to 4 cups of turkey stock and brought to a boil. Slowly whisked in the cornstarch/potato water to stock. Added pepper, poultry season and celery salt. I did NOT add addtl salt, didn't think it was needed. Maybe b/c I used some turkey drippings from a brined turkey. I will definitely make this gravy each year..everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
everyone in my family loved this gravy. it was real easy to make too. I used a few cans of turkey broth and made it the night before to save some time. next time i would reduce the pepper, it was a little too peppery for me, but over all a great recipe, thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made "homestyle turkey the michigander way" and ended up with just a bit over 5 cups of broth in my roasting pan. I left out the salt and just doubled the celery salt. This was my first time making real home made turkey gravy from scratch and it turned out so wonderfully tasty. It was even better than my mom's and grandma's! It took what felt like forever to thicken and after 25 minutes of waiting, it never really did, but the taste was the best I have ever eaten. I doubt that (lack of getting thick enough for my preference) was the recipe though, likely more my inexperience. Thanks, this gravy is outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I have a family member who made this for Thanksgiving today minus the celery salt and it was delicious. Everyone always loves this gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Boles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is how I make my gravy every year and occasionally just add a little dripping from the turkey. It's always been a hit. I do add a little powdered ginger for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Gravy is gooood not just this gravy but all gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States