Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I made this gravy for Thanksgiving. With a few additions it was a good time saving alternative ti gravy from giblets. I added more spices and quite a bit of dry white wine - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuttylicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
The flavors of the gravy were good. Be careful however, I used turkey stock with salt and then I added the additional salt the recipe called for. Way too much!!! I also had trouble since I felt like my gravy tasted a bit too much like flour...Perhaps it was just me....it was easy tough and good in a pinch...I will keep experimenting however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This gravy was great. I suggest cutting the salt if you're using drippings from a brined turkey. Otherwise, it will be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I was very disappointed in the flavor of this recipe. It tasted like grass to me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Absolutely Favorite! Only change I made to this recipe was I used all stock instead of water. Simple to do and best tasting gravy ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is the best, easiest, tastiest gravy I have made in a while. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I only used this recipe to see what I should add to my moms recipe to get a bit more punch. I just wasn't sure on added spices - the recipe and reviews helped! THOUGH I can't imagine using SOUP in homemade gravy - and I doubt I will ever try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made changes per some other reviews. I used 5 cups of stock, 5 tbsp of butter and 5 tbsp flour, no water. Melted the butter then add flour cook until bubbly then added store-bought chicken stock(whisk) and seasoned. I liked the fact that I could make this before the turkey was even out of the oven, and it seemed easy to get it smooth (no lumps)! but in terms of taste, I think the old-fashioned gravy made from the turkey drippings is a bit better. Also, I thought the seasoning here made it a touch too salty. I would make this again but would cut back on that tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This gravy was good. Taste it before adding salt; mine was plenty salty and I added no salt. If you use turkey drippings you probably won't need salt. I made Homestyle Turkey, the Michigan Way and used this gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States