Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Awesome!!! I can never make good gravy. I used the pan drippings. This was easy and lots of flavor, and my husband wanted my gravy, not the store bought. (I had both, just in case mine didn't work out). It's a keeper!!! I used 12 TBLSP of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This was awful! I couldn't get over the way it smelled and it had way too much pepper. I guess that I like a gravy that is more "comfort food" and less "adventure...try something new food." No one would eat it and at the last minute I had to make my gravy so that we could have some to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This was an ok gravy recipe. I increased the flour as recommended by others, and I felt it was a bit bland, but good for gravy that does not involve pan drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALERETTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I was a little nervous about making gravy for Thanksgiving, but this recipe was wonderful. I highly recommend it...It was very easy to prepare and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
this is my thanksgiving gravy for all time.i made the turkey stock the day before which enabled me to make the gravy before my guests arrived.no last minute craziness.it's the best tasting gravy i've ever made!thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This is a great basic gravy recipe, that's super easy to make, and pretty foolproof. It is too thin for my taste, and I used an extra 2 tbsp of flour for a half recipe. It did thicken up at the table, though, and the flavor was really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Tasty low fat gravy after adjusting thickener. Before I even read the reviews, I knew there must be an error in the recipe. There is no way one fourth cup of flour will thicken 6 cups of liquid. The normal proportion is 2 Tablespoons flour, or 1 Tablespoon cornstarch, per cup of liquid. So, I used 6 tablespoons of cornstarch and I was pleased with the result. Instead of putting the cornstarch in the one cup of water, I used one cup of cold broth. I did not want to water down the flavor of the gravy. I was very happy to have a tasty gravy with no fat. You may also want to adjust the salt. If you are using bouillon, or canned broth, you probably do not need to add any salt. I would recommend making this without salt and adding later if you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
740 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was my first Thanksgiving married and my family had no idea I could cook! Thanks for the help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
It was tasty, but was way too soupy per the ingredients. Either needs way more flour or way less stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
The gravy did get thicker, but not as thick as I was hoping. Next time, I'll try using corn starch instead of the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States