Savory TMT Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2001
Absolutely delicious on whole wheat toast! My 15 month old son loves it and gets excited when I ask if he wants TMT for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
At first this recipe tasted too strong so I tried adding toasted sesame seeds and a bit of lemon juice. It didnt seem to help so I just put it in the fridge. I went back to it a few days later and it was AWESOME! By this time, the flavours had mellowed and the onions gone soft and brown (this is how you tell it has rested long enough). It lasted very well in the fridge, for at least two weeks. I only just threw the rest out because there was only a teeny bit left, not because it seemed spoiled. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
The ingredients in this didn't sound so good, but boy once it was assembled, it tasted GREAT!! I used about 1 c. grated carrot and red miso, and liked it even better. My one year old son loves it too!! What could be better, tasty and vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Oh, this is so good! I used red miso and no onion because of my husband but otherwise no changes. I'm not a vegetarian, just trying to get more soy and healthier protein. I highly recommend this to anyone trying to cut meat consumption as it is so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2000
This is a fabulous recipe! I even forgot to buy tahini and decided to substitute peanut butter, and that tasted great too. It's kind of a weird combination, but it works. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
I needed to amend my first review. I rated this 3 cards the first time, but after letting the flavors blend overnight I would give it a 4. It was fantastic the second day--much better than the day it was made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Hi, I'm the person who submitted this recipe many moons ago. I am somewhat shocked at the sodium content at six servings, and have to advise that I think the recipe really makes 10-12 servings rather than 6, and even more servings when calculated using children's portions. I still love this recipe and eat it often, and just stumbled across it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I served this at my daughter's fifth birthday party as little tea sandwiches on homemade bread. All the moms asked for the recipe. I sauteed the carrots and onions in olive oil first, because I have trouble digesting raw onions. I skipped pressing the tofu, just cubed it ahead of time and let it dry out on the counter for about a half hour, then used a potato masher to crumble it. I also skipped the seeds. The next time I made it I used just the tofu, miso, and tahini and made it smooth in the food processor to use as a dip for raw veggies. I added some onion powder and nutritional yeast and balsamic vinegar to replace the vegetables, and it was very tasty change of pace from hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRIDANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I'm relatively new to miso, so this was a great find! I loved the recipe the way it was, but for those who aren't as fond of the tofu flavor, I added 2 Tbsp of dijon mustard & a shake of rice vinegar to tang it up a little. (Can you verb tang?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I am a vegan, but this recipe is for anyone on any diet! I agree with the other posters that it is definitely better on the second day, but I will still gobble it up on the first day. Variations: I have added celery (YUM!) and red cabbage to this. I think celery should be in the recipe. It is definitely an added texture. This recipe works great on toasted whole wheat, especially with veganaise (vegan substitute for mayo, I am sure regular mayo would be good too). I haven't tried it yet, but I can't wait to add tomatoes, avocados, etc to the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States