Savory TMT Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Hi, I'm the person who submitted this recipe many moons ago. I am somewhat shocked at the sodium content at six servings, and have to advise that I think the recipe really makes 10-12 servings rather than 6, and even more servings when calculated using children's portions. I still love this recipe and eat it often, and just stumbled across it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
I needed to amend my first review. I rated this 3 cards the first time, but after letting the flavors blend overnight I would give it a 4. It was fantastic the second day--much better than the day it was made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I thought this turned out to be a little too salty for my taste. I would recommend using very sweet onions and adding celery. I eat it on bread with tomatoes and cucumbers. Also, it makes a lot, so halfing the recipe is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I served this at my daughter's fifth birthday party as little tea sandwiches on homemade bread. All the moms asked for the recipe. I sauteed the carrots and onions in olive oil first, because I have trouble digesting raw onions. I skipped pressing the tofu, just cubed it ahead of time and let it dry out on the counter for about a half hour, then used a potato masher to crumble it. I also skipped the seeds. The next time I made it I used just the tofu, miso, and tahini and made it smooth in the food processor to use as a dip for raw veggies. I added some onion powder and nutritional yeast and balsamic vinegar to replace the vegetables, and it was very tasty change of pace from hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRIDANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2000
This is a fabulous recipe! I even forgot to buy tahini and decided to substitute peanut butter, and that tasted great too. It's kind of a weird combination, but it works. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I am a vegan, but this recipe is for anyone on any diet! I agree with the other posters that it is definitely better on the second day, but I will still gobble it up on the first day. Variations: I have added celery (YUM!) and red cabbage to this. I think celery should be in the recipe. It is definitely an added texture. This recipe works great on toasted whole wheat, especially with veganaise (vegan substitute for mayo, I am sure regular mayo would be good too). I haven't tried it yet, but I can't wait to add tomatoes, avocados, etc to the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
The ingredients in this didn't sound so good, but boy once it was assembled, it tasted GREAT!! I used about 1 c. grated carrot and red miso, and liked it even better. My one year old son loves it too!! What could be better, tasty and vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Oh, this is so good! I used red miso and no onion because of my husband but otherwise no changes. I'm not a vegetarian, just trying to get more soy and healthier protein. I highly recommend this to anyone trying to cut meat consumption as it is so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Tofu, Miso and Tahini are a no-miss base. I added 3 minced scallions, 2 chopped shitake mushrooms, 1/2 finely chopped green pepper, 1/2 cup of parmesan and a dash of garlic powder. DELICIOUS. Other reviewers mentioned that it's better the next day. Can't imagine it'll be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I'm relatively new to miso, so this was a great find! I loved the recipe the way it was, but for those who aren't as fond of the tofu flavor, I added 2 Tbsp of dijon mustard & a shake of rice vinegar to tang it up a little. (Can you verb tang?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States