Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
i made this one for the guys and used their ground venison/pork mixture. couldnt even tell it wasnt beef. i browned the meat, mixed all ingredients together i pan. put mixture in baking dish, topped w/ some cheddar and tots. turned out pretty good. no exactly the healthiest, but the guys liked it! also, i used cream of mushroom instead. and actually the last time i made this i must have accidentally bought cream of celery, and it turned out just as good w/ that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
it tastes like someone just mixed together anything they could find
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
The alterations I made was that I browned the beef first, drained it, then added 1 envelope dry onion soup mix, 1 can cream of chicken soup and 1 can cream of mushroom soup and left the onion out. I also added half a small can of French fried onions to the top which was added at the last 10 minutes of cooking along with a generous sprinkling of Cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I make this recipe, but always cook and drain the hamburger ahead. Also, we like it made with cream of mushroom and cheddar cheese soup, sometimes I use 2 cans of cheese soup with alittle milk. We really love the cheese flavor with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
We love quick and easy casseroles such as this! However, we are also big on flavor so in order to add a bit more to this recipe I season the hamburger while cooking with parsley flakes, garlic powder and basil. I also buy the family size cans of soup and use one of them in each batch. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Pretty good recipe, Like everyone else you should cook and season the meat before hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Good recipe. I cooked the hamburger first with lawry salt, garlic powder and minced onion. I also use cream of chicken soup instead and top with low fat shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I tried awheeler's version of this...it definitely had flavor...although something was a bit more salty than I would usually eat. The consistency was hot and gooey on the inside and crispy on the top. It reminded me of shephard's pie with more crunch. However, the more I ate of it, the more I disliked it and we threw out at least half the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I tried everything that this recipe called for,except I put a little twist in this dish...with a little help from my boyfriend who happens to have at least four years restaurant exp.I used one teaspoon of onion powder,a teaspoon of garlic powder,one package of Lipton onion soup mix,and of course can't forget one twelve ounce bottle of chili sauce,and two tablespoons of Worchestersire sauce.I combined all of these ingredients into the ground beef after browning the meat,then I layered it on the bottom of the casserole dish.Then I added all the mixed veggies,layered with shredded chedder cheese,then two cans of cream of celery soup and then I topped it all off with one bag of tator tots.I cooked this dish at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
432 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Luv
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was an easy recipe. I followed the directions and followed the advice of other reviews and super seasoned my meat. I also added half a cup of milk to the cream of mushroom, seasoned again and covered with cheese. I covered with tater tots, and then I sprinkled cheese over the tater tots as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Luv

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States