Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I make this recipe, but always cook and drain the hamburger ahead. Also, we like it made with cream of mushroom and cheddar cheese soup, sometimes I use 2 cans of cheese soup with alittle milk. We really love the cheese flavor with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
We love quick and easy casseroles such as this! However, we are also big on flavor so in order to add a bit more to this recipe I season the hamburger while cooking with parsley flakes, garlic powder and basil. I also buy the family size cans of soup and use one of them in each batch. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Pretty good recipe, Like everyone else you should cook and season the meat before hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Good recipe. I cooked the hamburger first with lawry salt, garlic powder and minced onion. I also use cream of chicken soup instead and top with low fat shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I tried awheeler's version of this...it definitely had flavor...although something was a bit more salty than I would usually eat. The consistency was hot and gooey on the inside and crispy on the top. It reminded me of shephard's pie with more crunch. However, the more I ate of it, the more I disliked it and we threw out at least half the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I tried everything that this recipe called for,except I put a little twist in this dish...with a little help from my boyfriend who happens to have at least four years restaurant exp.I used one teaspoon of onion powder,a teaspoon of garlic powder,one package of Lipton onion soup mix,and of course can't forget one twelve ounce bottle of chili sauce,and two tablespoons of Worchestersire sauce.I combined all of these ingredients into the ground beef after browning the meat,then I layered it on the bottom of the casserole dish.Then I added all the mixed veggies,layered with shredded chedder cheese,then two cans of cream of celery soup and then I topped it all off with one bag of tator tots.I cooked this dish at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Luv
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was an easy recipe. I followed the directions and followed the advice of other reviews and super seasoned my meat. I also added half a cup of milk to the cream of mushroom, seasoned again and covered with cheese. I covered with tater tots, and then I sprinkled cheese over the tater tots as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Luv

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I made this for dinner last night, but I tweaked it for added flavor. I seasoned the ground beef with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. Then on top of that I added dry french fried onions. Also, I used frozen corn and greenbeans. I used two cns of cream of chicken and put some fresh shredded sharp cheddar cheese on top of that. I also used a bigger pan than the 9 x 13 nd it cooked faster. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I have been making this same recipe for years. One of my kids favorites. The beauty of this recipe is not having to cook the hamburger! Everything in one pan no mess, and its easy to take uncooked to a freinds house and just throw it in the oven. I also put the soup on first and than the veggies, its a bit easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
The top half was really good. We used canned green beans and tater tot rounds (the short flat ones). We also sprinkled some hamburger seasoning on the meat, but it didn't really have any flavor. This would be good if you played with the meat seasoning a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States