Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I took some of the suggestions; 1. browned the meat with garlic and onions. 2. added a can of cheddar cheese soup. My husband and I both thought this dish was bland. I'd definitely recommend spicing up the meat and adding real cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemmon
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
My grandma makes a similar recipe and I was excited to make this for my niece. This recipe is great because you can really improvise as you go. I used a pound of ground beef and a pound of ground turkey. I browned the meat with a whole white onion then placed ingredients in a bowl and mixed with 3/4 a large can of cream of chicken which I thinned out with milk and the mixed vegetables. I added all the ingredients to the pan then place a layer of shredded cheddar cheese over the top then added the remainder of the soup which I then placed the frozen tater tots on the top. I use and electric oven and found that I needed to let it cook for the full hour and 15 minutes. My 5 year old niece loved the dish of course when I asked her she said she liked the top the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemmon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
i made this one for the guys and used their ground venison/pork mixture. couldnt even tell it wasnt beef. i browned the meat, mixed all ingredients together i pan. put mixture in baking dish, topped w/ some cheddar and tots. turned out pretty good. no exactly the healthiest, but the guys liked it! also, i used cream of mushroom instead. and actually the last time i made this i must have accidentally bought cream of celery, and it turned out just as good w/ that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
it tastes like someone just mixed together anything they could find
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
The alterations I made was that I browned the beef first, drained it, then added 1 envelope dry onion soup mix, 1 can cream of chicken soup and 1 can cream of mushroom soup and left the onion out. I also added half a small can of French fried onions to the top which was added at the last 10 minutes of cooking along with a generous sprinkling of Cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I make this recipe, but always cook and drain the hamburger ahead. Also, we like it made with cream of mushroom and cheddar cheese soup, sometimes I use 2 cans of cheese soup with alittle milk. We really love the cheese flavor with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
We love quick and easy casseroles such as this! However, we are also big on flavor so in order to add a bit more to this recipe I season the hamburger while cooking with parsley flakes, garlic powder and basil. I also buy the family size cans of soup and use one of them in each batch. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Pretty good recipe, Like everyone else you should cook and season the meat before hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Good recipe. I cooked the hamburger first with lawry salt, garlic powder and minced onion. I also use cream of chicken soup instead and top with low fat shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I tried awheeler's version of this...it definitely had flavor...although something was a bit more salty than I would usually eat. The consistency was hot and gooey on the inside and crispy on the top. It reminded me of shephard's pie with more crunch. However, the more I ate of it, the more I disliked it and we threw out at least half the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States