Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
My family absolutely loves this, I however, add some cheese and garlic for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltlpggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Pretty good - perfect for a cold New England night! I browned the hamburg with onion and garlic powder, and added frozen broccoli, carrots and cauliflower. Also sprinkled with a little cheddar cheese. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori B
Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
My husband loved this recipe. I read several reviews before making it about "adding flavor" so I sauted onion and celery in a pan before adding the ground beef. I also seasoned the beef with lawry's salt while browning. Instead of using just cream of chicken soup, I used one small can of cream of chicken with herbs and one small can of cream of mushroom and added a layer of shredded cheddar cheese before layering the tots on top. Also, instead of using frozen veggies, I just dumped in a can each of green beans, corn and peas. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I took some of the suggestions; 1. browned the meat with garlic and onions. 2. added a can of cheddar cheese soup. My husband and I both thought this dish was bland. I'd definitely recommend spicing up the meat and adding real cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemmon
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
My grandma makes a similar recipe and I was excited to make this for my niece. This recipe is great because you can really improvise as you go. I used a pound of ground beef and a pound of ground turkey. I browned the meat with a whole white onion then placed ingredients in a bowl and mixed with 3/4 a large can of cream of chicken which I thinned out with milk and the mixed vegetables. I added all the ingredients to the pan then place a layer of shredded cheddar cheese over the top then added the remainder of the soup which I then placed the frozen tater tots on the top. I use and electric oven and found that I needed to let it cook for the full hour and 15 minutes. My 5 year old niece loved the dish of course when I asked her she said she liked the top the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemmon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
i made this one for the guys and used their ground venison/pork mixture. couldnt even tell it wasnt beef. i browned the meat, mixed all ingredients together i pan. put mixture in baking dish, topped w/ some cheddar and tots. turned out pretty good. no exactly the healthiest, but the guys liked it! also, i used cream of mushroom instead. and actually the last time i made this i must have accidentally bought cream of celery, and it turned out just as good w/ that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
it tastes like someone just mixed together anything they could find
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
The alterations I made was that I browned the beef first, drained it, then added 1 envelope dry onion soup mix, 1 can cream of chicken soup and 1 can cream of mushroom soup and left the onion out. I also added half a small can of French fried onions to the top which was added at the last 10 minutes of cooking along with a generous sprinkling of Cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I make this recipe, but always cook and drain the hamburger ahead. Also, we like it made with cream of mushroom and cheddar cheese soup, sometimes I use 2 cans of cheese soup with alittle milk. We really love the cheese flavor with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
We love quick and easy casseroles such as this! However, we are also big on flavor so in order to add a bit more to this recipe I season the hamburger while cooking with parsley flakes, garlic powder and basil. I also buy the family size cans of soup and use one of them in each batch. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States