Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
my mom used to make a variation of this when i was a kid. instead of using cream of mushroom soup, she used cheese sauce made by campbells. i precook the meat, add worcestershire sauce to mine and use nacho sauce instead of soup. I LOVE IT and so does my family. tons of flavor, very filling, and incredibly simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
VERY TASTY, Very easy!! I've made this a few times with varying ingredients and it's always been a hit. Most recently I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and added garlic and Worcestershire sauce while browning with onions, Then I mixed cream of celery and cream of mushroom (both 10oz cans) together, then added a bag of mixed veggies and a bag of mixed Asian veggies. Once mixed I layered the veggie soup blend on top of the cooked turkey, then topped with tater tots, cooked for 25 min covered. I removed the cover and then added cheese to the top and cooked uncovered for 15 more minutes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I liked this but changed it up a bit. Added onions and garlic to ground turkey. Added two cans of cream of mushroom soup and french green beans. Also added fried onions and topped with cheddar cheese. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Its a good basic recipe. I never cook anything right to the recipe. What I did with this dish was i browned my meat with minced garic and onion. Seasoned with creola seasoning & pepper. I took 1 can of cream of celery soup & 1 can of cream of mushroom soup 10.5 ounces each and a 1/2 cup milk. Put that in a mixing bowl added mixed veggies, Meat mixture and I cubed up in small cubes Velveta Cheese 1/4 block and mixed all together. Put in pan and topped with Tater tots. Sprinkled top with some more cubes of Velveta and regular shredded cheese. Finally topped of with Frenchs Onion. Covered And baked at 350 for 25 min. uncoverd and baked 20 min more. It was a smash Hit everyone loved it and was asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bison Heating & A/C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Interior, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I tried making this recipe a couple of times. The first time around I used the main recipe. It was very bland. Then I tried it again with some tweaking and it was still horrible. This won't be a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Neither my husband nor I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I have never made tater tot casserole before, but I decided to try it for a quick and yummy dish! With some modifications this dish was delicious! Even my 21 month old twins loved it. I Cooked the meat with the onion, garlic, and a little bit of paprika. Then when I got to the soup layer I added a little bit more garlic powder and a little but of pepper. My family loves garlic so it made it tasty for us! Then I salted the tator tots just a little and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelsilvs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
KID FRIENDLY! This was good but I did add some seasonings to the browned meat. I also used a can of cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic and one can of cream of chicken soup. I used a 1 12 oz bag of mixed veggies which was about 2 cups and used crispy rounds instead of tater tots. It was just what I was looking for. I had something like this when I was a kid and had been wanting to make it for my girls, 3 and 1. Both girls loved it and I liked that it had veggies as opposed to other tater tot casseroles I have found. It was easy to make. I will deffinately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Used other reviewers advice and browned the meat with onion and some minced garlic before baking. I also used two cans french cut green beans, and two cans cream of mushroom soup. Instead of using mixed frozen veggiess and the cream of chicken. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindiZR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is really a great recipe to take care of things in our freezer that need to be used! I substituted frozen meatballs for the meat, and added spices and Campbell's Cheddar Cheese and Creamy Mushroom soups, and also added milk and shredded cheddar as suggested by another review. Threw in some mixed veggies right before I topped it with the tater tots, and it was great! Speedy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States