Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I do this alot, but i omit the mixed veggies. I also use cream of mushroom soup then top it off with shredded chedar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Excellent dish! I did as some recommended and browned the beef first with minced onion and three minced garlic cloves, some pepper, and salt. I drained the grease from the beef and then mixed all the ingredients except for the tater tots - those were placed on top. But instead of full sized tater tots, all I had were "potato rounds." These are tater tots shaped like a disc instead of a cylinder. I also did not have mixed veggies, so I used half frozen peas and half frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I also cooked the ground beef first, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was great and I will make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heff76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gregory, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
My husband and picky two year old really liked this. I browned my hamburger with onion, garlic powder and salt and pepper. I also cubed up a little velveeta over the hamburger in the casserole dish and I also added some shredded cheddar on top of the tots towards the end of baking. But still very easy, will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
my mom used to make a variation of this when i was a kid. instead of using cream of mushroom soup, she used cheese sauce made by campbells. i precook the meat, add worcestershire sauce to mine and use nacho sauce instead of soup. I LOVE IT and so does my family. tons of flavor, very filling, and incredibly simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
VERY TASTY, Very easy!! I've made this a few times with varying ingredients and it's always been a hit. Most recently I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and added garlic and Worcestershire sauce while browning with onions, Then I mixed cream of celery and cream of mushroom (both 10oz cans) together, then added a bag of mixed veggies and a bag of mixed Asian veggies. Once mixed I layered the veggie soup blend on top of the cooked turkey, then topped with tater tots, cooked for 25 min covered. I removed the cover and then added cheese to the top and cooked uncovered for 15 more minutes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I liked this but changed it up a bit. Added onions and garlic to ground turkey. Added two cans of cream of mushroom soup and french green beans. Also added fried onions and topped with cheddar cheese. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Its a good basic recipe. I never cook anything right to the recipe. What I did with this dish was i browned my meat with minced garic and onion. Seasoned with creola seasoning & pepper. I took 1 can of cream of celery soup & 1 can of cream of mushroom soup 10.5 ounces each and a 1/2 cup milk. Put that in a mixing bowl added mixed veggies, Meat mixture and I cubed up in small cubes Velveta Cheese 1/4 block and mixed all together. Put in pan and topped with Tater tots. Sprinkled top with some more cubes of Velveta and regular shredded cheese. Finally topped of with Frenchs Onion. Covered And baked at 350 for 25 min. uncoverd and baked 20 min more. It was a smash Hit everyone loved it and was asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bison Heating & A/C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Interior, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I tried making this recipe a couple of times. The first time around I used the main recipe. It was very bland. Then I tried it again with some tweaking and it was still horrible. This won't be a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Neither my husband nor I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States