Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I always make new dishes exactly as they are written. I debated making this for a few weeks and finally tried it. It has potential, but it definitely needs spices. I would suggest to anyone making this for the first time to mix your soup, vegs and meat together instead of layering it, also, use canned mixed vegetables. I baked my frozen mixed vegetables for an hour and when they came out, they were still watery. The soup never made it to the beef. I had to bake it for an extra hour,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Not a bad recipe with some additional ingredients. Tater tot casserole is what it is. It's never going to fabulous! But, this recipe is pretty good. This recipe wouldn't have been as good had I not added some minced garlic, 1/2 packet onion soup mix, a splash of worcestershire, a sprinkling of onion powder, and a handful of shredded cheddar. I cooked my meat with the onion like others did then baked it for 50 minutes. Note that the recipe calls for a 19 ounce can of soup. I'm sure many people overlooked that and bought the usual 10 ounce can like I did. Luckily I had a can of cream of mushroom soup on hand to add. All in all, it was a nice way to get my toddler her beloved tater tots along with some veggies and meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
LOVED IT! I browned the ground beef and onions and seasoned really well with seasoned salt, pepper and garlic. I also added about 1 cup of chedder cheese ontop of the veggies. It was soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This recipe was okay, I browned the meat with the onion beforehand, but in general I thought it was kind of flavorless and boring. It didn't quite live up to expectations, but I may mess around with the recipe a bit to see if I can make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Excellent! It was the first time I made this dish and my fiance said it was the best he ever had. A great compliment from a midwest guy! I browned the beef first (just past pink), seasoned each layer with salt, pepper, & a little garlic powder, used two cans of mushroom soup with a little milk, two handfuls of shredded cheese mixed into the soup with 1/3 cup sour cream, more salt & pepper and a some parmesean cheese. It was fast and easy and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My kids and i enjoyed this.. not sure if my husband was a fan!... but it was really easy to make! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made this recipe for a very picky eater! My whole family loved it with just two minor changes. I used ground turkey instead of beef. I also pan grilled the turkey and only cooked the casserole in the oven for 35 minutes. I also added a layer of cheese below the tater tots! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
A family favorite in my house ... best since my Mom's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Awesome!! Although I did cook my burger first and then added the onion soup mix, mushroom soup and cheese soup to the cooked meat. Then did my layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States