Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I have to say I did not care for this one. I cant imagine how bland this would taste if you didnt take the review suggestions. I browned the ground beef & onion adding a packet of dry onion soup mix, garlic salt & worcestershire sauce. I added a layer of cheddar cheese also. I wont be making this one again. It sounded better than it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
i did cook the beef and onion in a pan first as suggested and then near the end of the layering i added a layer of 2 cups shredded cheddar before topping it with the tots. kind of more like a cheeseburger casserole. also i didn't have cream of chicken so i used cream of mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this casserole for the family one night, all I can say " ALL GONE".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.cookinvigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I should have browned and seasoned the beef first. There wasn't that much taste to make up for the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This recipe is very good as is. However, I do dress mine up a little bit when I make it just to give it more flavor. I add a package of onion soup mix to the uncooked hamburger and stamp the meat into the bottom the casserole dish. Then add the onion and mixed veggies, a layer of shredded cheddar cheese, cream of chicken soup, and finally the tots. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is really good. I used ground turkey and cooked it in a skillet with a little garlic and onion powder. I skipped the onion and mixed the turkey, veggies and soup together (I used 2 cans of Healthy Request Cream of Chicken) and topped that with the tots. I baked it for 40 minutes since the meat was already cooked. It came out great! I'll for sure be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Definitely brown your ground beef first and add garlic and spices as others recommend. The one change I make is sticking enough tater tots in the microwave to cover a plate, heat up and mash with a fork when done. Mix mashed tater tots into meat + soup mixture. It gives it a bit extra bulk and tater flavor. We still then layer the tots on top as the recipe says. I love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
My family loves tator tot casserole. We do it differently though. I cook the meat with garlic powder, salt, pepper, onions, and bell peppers. After I drain the grease I put it back in the pan and I add a family sized can off cream of chicken soup and cook it on medium heat for about 10 minutes. I line my baking dish with tator tots then spread my mixture over the top. Then I put 2 lbs of sharp Cheddar cheese and bake it on 375 for about 20 minutes.its fantastic this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Not bad but I made lots of alterations. Browned the hamburger with the onion and a half a packet of onion soup mix. Drained, returned to pan and added a can of mushroom soup. Poured mixture into a 9x13 sprinkled w/ Parmesan. Added a layer of frozen french cut green beans and sprinkled a cup of cheddar on top of that. Put the frozen taters on top of that and sprinkled with another cup of cheddar. Mixed another can of mushroom soup (10 oz.) with a few tablespoons of milk and poured over tots. Sprinkled ANOTHER cup of cheddar on top. Baked covered for the first 30 and uncovered the remaining time. It was pretty good but still seems like it's missing something! Next time I will add fresh mushrooms and scale back the cheese. (Only by one layer.) Maybe add a few shakes of A1 to the meat mixture.. great recipe to start with and make your own :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States