Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I have been making this same recipe for years. One of my kids favorites. The beauty of this recipe is not having to cook the hamburger! Everything in one pan no mess, and its easy to take uncooked to a freinds house and just throw it in the oven. I also put the soup on first and than the veggies, its a bit easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
The top half was really good. We used canned green beans and tater tot rounds (the short flat ones). We also sprinkled some hamburger seasoning on the meat, but it didn't really have any flavor. This would be good if you played with the meat seasoning a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
After reading so many reviews of people who wanted to cook off the ground beef prior to assembling, I decided to make the recipe as written. There was no danger in the beef not being cooked through, however, you must be ready for the "slab" effect and be ready to cut through it. I also agree that you might want to season the dish with some of your favorite spices prior to cooking. other than that, I was very happy with the dish. I will definitely make it again and probably add some seasoning and shredded cheddar to the cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is good. Simple, easy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hagerman, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Pretty Bland. Needs some seasoning and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This wasn't bad. I followed the instructions except for adding some salt and pepper to the meat and subbing the mixed veggis for a boccoli/cauliflower mix that I had onhand. It was a little bland. Next time I make it I will definately play with the seasoning some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
My whole family loved this - even the baby! I browned the meat first and used cream of chicken and cream of broccoli to add more veggie flavor. Great weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
My entire family LOVED this casserole. Because my husband and I are lactose intolerant, I substituted 2 small cans of Campbell's Golden Mushroom soup instead of the cream of chicken. As suggested, I cooked the ground meat and onion (to drain the grease) ahead of time. I will assuredly make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I have made this several times and it is always a hit. I always brown ground meat first and season it up with seasoned salt pepper and garlic powder. I also add a little more cream of chicken soup and onion than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Tater Tot Casserole is so yummy. Thanks for the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States