Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I did not cook the beef first and it was fine. But, no need for the cooking spray. I enjoyed how patting the uncooked beef into the bottom of the pan made a great base to hold everything together when serving. As others have done, I simply added some garlic salt, pepper, cayenne, and onion powder to the beef. When the casserole was done, let it rest about 5 to 10 minutes. While doing that, I put a few Kraft American Cheese slices on top.. This was very good, just like my mom used to make. Thank you Mrs. G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I changed the soup to cream of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I caramelized the onions first with a bit of brown sugar as well before adding them on top of the ground beef. I also added lipton onion soup mix to the ground beef, however I did not brown in advance, I just put it in the oven. The ground beef with soup mix and any other spices, the onions, then the frozen vegetables (I used peas, broccoli, carrots and cauliflower) add the cream of chicken soup on top and then just finish off with some tater tots it was really good, a good mixture of flavours. I also added cheese to the top in the last 10 minutes, because what is a casserole without cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
used a little milk and mushroom soup. Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Roby Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
GREAT!!! Savory Tater Tot Casserole as is. No need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I added a little milk, sour cream, and grated sharp cheddar cheese to the mix. Then topped it with the remaining cheddar cheese. It helped add a lot of flavor. I also cooked the hamburger prior to baking! It cut down on my cook time and was more flavorful with less grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was pretty bad following the recipe exactly. It's a good idea though. Next time I'm going to try mixing an egg in with the beef and maybe some onion soup mix. Or cooking the beef first like others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmila111
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe was easy and delicious! The only change i made was adding asparagus cut up into small squares and spread on top of the ground beef layer. This was a hit in our home! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmila111

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Photo by Reavistif
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. It's alright. Next time I will brown the meat first and use canned veggies as well as using onion mix and less onion and ill add garlic and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I've made this and found it bland. so I added chopped fresh garlic onion and a small can of mushrooms. I used cream of mushroom soup with ground beef. followed the layering directions and topped with grated cheese. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States