Savory Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this salad a few times and we loved it. The only thing I changed was I didn't have hot pepper sauce so I used 1/2 cup Buffallo Ranch salad dressing with 1 cup mayonnaise. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Robinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was a little gem of a recipe - which saved me from Sweet Potato boredom... we recently switched to Paleo, and Sweet Potato has become a STAPLE in our kitchen... but there's only so many times you can bake / bbq them... I used some green snap peas, instead of red pepper... substitute of necessity... and did cube / chop into chunks before boiling. I then peeled the skin off once cooked (much easier). I cooked them until they were JUST soft enough to bite through, and let them sit for a few mins before rinsing in cold water bath and peeling. I also added buffalo wing sauce as it adds that zing of vinegar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Definitely a keeper, for sure. I microwaved the potatoes (about 10 min for 5 medium sized) and then peeled and diced. Quick and easy to do on a hot summer day. I added less mayo and more hot sauce. It tasted even better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittywog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Everyone raved about this dish. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Way too much mayonnaise for my taste and my husband agreed. I added some white potatoes to it the next day and it was much better then. Nice flavor even if the ratios were off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Really delicious!! I cubed and boiled my potatoes with the skin on (i love the skin) it is imperative to watch the potatoes and remove them from heat and run under cold water the second they are done to prevent mushiness. I added a little mustard and a splash of vinegar, i also replaced the bell pepper(i didnt have any) with celery. I love sweet potatoes, but only on the savoury side, this is my kind of dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The dish is simply AMAZING! I wish I had found it years ago. The only changes I made were to saute my onions and peppers because my stomach likes them better that way and I replaced half of the mayo with sour cream. Thank you for sharing the recipe. Love, love, love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! It was a big hit at my family gathering. I was looking for a twist on a traditional potato salad to serve and this did the trick! I love chipotle mayo with sweet potato fries, so I was specifically looking for a way to put together that flavor combo, so I changed up the ingredients just a bit. Instead of the hot sauce and mayo, I used a 12oz bottle of Kraft Chipotle mayo and 1 cup of light sour cream. The Chipotle adds a wonderful smokiness that goes so well with the sweet potato. You could also make your own chipotle mayo, I just happened to have the Kraft pre-made on hand. This amount of spice was perfect for my crowd with was not spicy friendly. Even my 2 grandmothers who can't handle spice at all loved it! If you have a more spice happy crowd, I would use more of the chipotle, either by making your own mayo or using more of the kraft mayo and less sour cream. I would lean toward making your own as the light sour cream really lightened up what could be a really heavy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Perkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
What a great change from white potato salad and healthier! Made exactly to directions. Everyone loved it. Can't wait for the next picnic so I can use it as a covered dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbaraS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!! This was awesome!! I was trying to find a really good sweet potato recipe that used the natural sweetness of the potatoes, rather than those overly sugared candied desserts. It was soooo easy to make! A lot less time consuming than regular potato salad, and it has a unique, delectable flavor! I was unsure of the hot sauce at first, but I found it to really compliment the sweet potato. I didn't have any regular hot sauce on hand, so I used a packet of the hot sauce you get at Taco Bell, and it worked really well. Also, I don't like raw onion, and it gives me heartburn, so I like frying the onion up with the peppers in a little oil or butter with the salt and pepper. This time I put in half of the packet of hot sauce in as well when I was frying it. I later added the rest of the packet of hot sauce in when I mixed in the mayo, but I think next time I will just use half a packet, as that was enough, rather than the whole packet. I also added some celery for an added crunch and flavor as a last minute decision, and it tasted great, but it also tastes wonderful without the celery. For the mayo, I don't think I used the whole amount called for, I just mixed some in a little at a time, until I got the creaminess and flavor that I wanted. I will definitely make it again!!! This recipe was a hit!!!! It tasted great alongside our cooked chicken! THANKS AGAIN!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States