Savory Sweet Potato Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Made this a few weeks ago as a side dish for my family .. It was a HIT !! Will definitely make again. The only change to the recipe was using bacon instead of ham steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Simple and tasty. We prefer this without the added salt or sugar. The ham and sweet potatoes are sufficient. Loved the kick the cayenne gave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Delicious. Used recipe exactly as written. Just added a bit of water while cooking to prevent sticking. Served with over easy eggs on top. Husband loved it. Its a keeper. Good for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
It came out nice. I used it as a side dish to rice and peas and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This was wonderful. I actually used this as a "jumping off" recipe and it turned out very nicely. I added one ingredient, some diced apple. Due to making it for a crowd I increased everything(except the cayenne) and baked it, layered (1/2 the potatoes first on which I sprinkled the cinnamon, cayenne and brown sugar, then the apples/onions, topped with the ham, then repeated) in a 9 x 13 dish with just enough water to cover the bottom of the dish, altho I think apple or orange juice would work great. I dotted the top with 6 thin pats of butter- did not use the oil called for- and covered it with foil during baking. Flavor was great and it was a perfect brunch dish. It took longer to bake than I thought it would; it cooked at 350 degrees for about 1 1/2 hours to get the potatoes soft ( I had pre-microwaved the potatoes but they were still pretty hard when I loaded the casserole).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I loved this.It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bagley-Dutil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Made it this morning and followed the recipe as is. Everyone loved it except for the cayenne. Next time I will cut it back or out. Also as suggested by another reviewer added an over easy egg on top and let the yolk mix in. Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was fantastic, made no changes hubby loved them. Made them twice first time with the ham. Second time forgot to buy the ham so I fried chopped bacon and it also turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I thought this was more sweet than savory, but it was very good nonetheless. I only added a couple of sprinkles of cayenne pepper, and that gave it just the right kick for my taste. I also served with an over easy egg on top and loved the creamy yolk mixed in with the soft sweet potato and ham mixture. This was a healthy and filling breakfast for me, and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States