Savory Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
I'm afraid we didn't care much for this recipe. I thought the cream cheese would melt down into the spinach, but it remained in a thick layer on top while the spinach below stayed dry. I had pressed the water out of the spinach after I thawed it. Maybe I wasn't supposed to?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
This is excellent! Here is what I did- I softened the cream cheese in the microwave for about 30 seconds before mixing it with the milk using a mixer. I did press all the water out of the spinach, but then mixed the spinach into the cream cheese mixture with a spoon until all the spinach was coated and mixed with it. Then I put it in the casserole dish. I also increased the Parmesan cheese to 1/2 cup instead of 1/3rd, and used block parmesan cheese and grated it myself. This was delicious! Even the Firefighters at my husbands work loved it. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I followed Islandmama's suggestions and zapped the cream cheese for 30 seconds, increased the parmesan and mixed it all together. This is absolutely wonderful and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
I have made this dish many times now and have always been asked to make it again. My family loves it. Once I said I wasn't going to make it and I thought I would get banned from the family get together. Needless to say I made it for them and will continue at every family dinner. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This was great. I did increase the parmesean cheese to 1/2 cup and melted the cream cheese in the microwave as suggested by other reviewers. I also sprinkled the top with some grated gruyer cheese and it was a big hit.I will definitely make this one again and again and again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Very good! I seemed to like it more than our dinner guests, but then again I love spinach. Recipe didn't say whether to drain and squeeze out excess water for spinach, but I recommend doing so. Also, I used 1/4 cup half-n-half in place of the milk for creamier texture. Also I mixed spinach and cream mixture all together before putting into oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I took a shot at making this casserole for an office potluck. It was a MARVELOUS change from the everyday green bean casserole, or broccoli cheese casserole. I did squeeze the water as the other reviewers suggested, and I did mix the cream cheese and the spinach first. We are making it for Christmas dinner, we loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this recipe for Christmas and everybody loved it and asked what was in it. I am not crazy about spinach but I really liked this one. I followed the advice of another reviewer and mixed the spinach into the cheese mixture. I also added a half of a can of cream of mushroom soup and about a 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder just to give it a little extra flavor. Very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I love this recipe I have never liked spinach and now I can't get enough of it. A friend of mine gave me this recipe a while back with the exception of the one she I have been using calls for 8 oz of sour cream and no milk and it is really good that way also. I didn't have any sour cream and I was looking for another recipe when I came across this one using cream cheese. Both very good. So if you find yourself short cream cheese it taste great with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
I made this for easter brunch. Went over very well. I didn't have any cream cheese so I used sour cream & about 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup. I also added in some dices onions for a different texture. Super easy & super quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States