Savory Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Really tasty! I did, however make some changes. I sauted about 1/2 cup yellow onion with 2 tblsp butter. I then added the spinach to that, and let cook a few mins. I added the cream cheese and stired untill it was all melted and distributed. I then added about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and the milk. I stired in about 1/2 cup a grated cheddar. I then spred it in the baking dish, and sprinkled the parmesan cheese over the top. I let it sit in the fridge untill I was ready to cook it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
A tasty, simple side dish. I took the advice of other reviewers and microwaved the cream cheese for 30 seconds before mixing it with the milk. I also mixed the cream cheese mixture right in with the spinach, then topped with grated Parmesan. You should definitly thaw and squeeze the excess moisture out of the spinach. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
The recipe needs to stress the fact that you need to cook the frozen spinach BEFORE you put it in this dish. I had to cook my casserole nearly 3 times the told time because the spinach was frozen. once done, the casserole was good, but I think it may have been even better if served cold as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Great recipe.....I did add a little garlic powder. It's even good on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caseyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This is a yummy side dish! It is so easy to make. I mixed the milk, cream cheese, and parmesean together and added the spinach to the mixture last. It turned out great. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I thought this was quite bland. My 3 year old liked it, that's about all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I would have used more milk as the cream cheese was a bit gluggy and sat thickly on top. If I make it again I will take the advice I have seen and mix the creanm cheese in with the spinach before putting in the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
I made this for easter brunch. Went over very well. I didn't have any cream cheese so I used sour cream & about 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup. I also added in some dices onions for a different texture. Super easy & super quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I love this recipe I have never liked spinach and now I can't get enough of it. A friend of mine gave me this recipe a while back with the exception of the one she I have been using calls for 8 oz of sour cream and no milk and it is really good that way also. I didn't have any sour cream and I was looking for another recipe when I came across this one using cream cheese. Both very good. So if you find yourself short cream cheese it taste great with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this recipe for Christmas and everybody loved it and asked what was in it. I am not crazy about spinach but I really liked this one. I followed the advice of another reviewer and mixed the spinach into the cheese mixture. I also added a half of a can of cream of mushroom soup and about a 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder just to give it a little extra flavor. Very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States