Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Yummy fall side dish! I did make a few small changes. I omitted the onion and added 2 tablespoons honey instead. I cooked everything without the apples for about 6 hours on low. I then added the apples for an additional 2 hours on low. It was delicious and the squash and apples were evenly consistent in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksobgynrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Easy and everyone loved it! Great fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was really good. What a great hearty meal. I made this along with a ground turkey meatloaf, and my one year old ate it right up! I didn't have enough cinnamon on hand so I did add just a little ground cloves to the mix...I think it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Easy, flavorful side dish. Next time, I will add a full cup of dried cranberries. This dish was a great addition to our holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Wonderful and easy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JeffysMommy
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was AMAZING! The only thing I changed was I added golden, regular, and red raisins as well as sprinkled a little brown sugar on top:) Oh and I also used 1 small shallot chopped very fine instead of an onion because my boyfriend hates onions. I highly recomend this one! I will be making it for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeffysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Spreckels, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe! I added a small piece of ginger and galangal (a ginger relative), walnuts and a bit of crushed cloves. Cooked it for the full four hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I was skeptical about serving this dish for part of our Christmas dinner since I had never made it before, but I was pleasantly surprised. In fact, it turned out to be my favorite part of the meal. The only thing that I did differently was I only cooked it on high for about three hours, and then turned it down to low until we were ready to eat. I think if I had left it on high the whole time the squash would have been too mushy. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is so good, it's like dessert!!! My kids even loved it so much we didn't have any leftovers!! The only changes I made were to add an extra apple (5 total) and leave out the onion. Also, layer the squash (diced in small cubes) on the bottom with the apples (diced in large chunks) on top. Don't stir until right before serving in order to keep the apples from getting too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Made this recipe with a few mods. Dusted the squash, apple onion, mixture with 2T of flour. Added half of that to the slow cooker. Sprinkled cranberries on top along with some shredded cheddar cheese, and in hindsight, I think I will totally leave the cheese out next time, as I didn't taste it. Layered the rest of the squash mixture on top, and finally poured 1cup of veggie stock over entire mixture. Let it cook for 4 hours, and when it was done, dug right in. Served over a thick slice of sweet portuguese bread, my 8 year old was hopping in his seat, saying it was a dinner dessert explosion in his mouth. My 1 year old got rid of her spoon, and opted to feed herself with her hands. A winner, and a repeatable recipe, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States