Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was really good. What a great hearty meal. I made this along with a ground turkey meatloaf, and my one year old ate it right up! I didn't have enough cinnamon on hand so I did add just a little ground cloves to the mix...I think it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Yummy fall side dish! I did make a few small changes. I omitted the onion and added 2 tablespoons honey instead. I cooked everything without the apples for about 6 hours on low. I then added the apples for an additional 2 hours on low. It was delicious and the squash and apples were evenly consistent in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksobgynrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Made this recipe with a few mods. Dusted the squash, apple onion, mixture with 2T of flour. Added half of that to the slow cooker. Sprinkled cranberries on top along with some shredded cheddar cheese, and in hindsight, I think I will totally leave the cheese out next time, as I didn't taste it. Layered the rest of the squash mixture on top, and finally poured 1cup of veggie stock over entire mixture. Let it cook for 4 hours, and when it was done, dug right in. Served over a thick slice of sweet portuguese bread, my 8 year old was hopping in his seat, saying it was a dinner dessert explosion in his mouth. My 1 year old got rid of her spoon, and opted to feed herself with her hands. A winner, and a repeatable recipe, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Easy and everyone loved it! Great fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! Been eating these leftovers for 2 days now as lunch all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dundas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This wasn't bad, but had a slight bite to it, and seemed a little dry. I think it needs some type of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is so good, it's like dessert!!! My kids even loved it so much we didn't have any leftovers!! The only changes I made were to add an extra apple (5 total) and leave out the onion. Also, layer the squash (diced in small cubes) on the bottom with the apples (diced in large chunks) on top. Don't stir until right before serving in order to keep the apples from getting too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This has become a family favorite. I used red onion and a little fresh cider with Melrose and Granny Smith apples then cooked on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMHecky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This recipe sounded good with this combo of ingredients, but it wasn't good at all. The only thing I did differently was to add 1/2 cup apple juice hoping that that would help steam the squash a bit more since other reviewers had noted that the squash was still not cooked after the 4 hour cook time listed in the recipe. And I had the same results - not done after 4 hours, or 5 or 6 or 7. I ended up cooking this 8 hours until the squash was done. And in the end, we didn't like it. The soft texture of the apple chunks (and I used Granny Smith) with the still somewhat firm texture of the squash chunks wasn't appealing. So for the leftovers, I tried mashing it with milk and butter. It was more appetizing, but still not good. The rest got thrown in the trash. Such a waste of time and money. I gave this a 3 only because it was easy to make and the apple part was good. It was the squash part that made this a unappetizing (and I love squash by the way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Tried this one for Christmas. It sounds delicious. I thought the spices overpowered the squash too much. Next time, I would decrease the amount of nutmeg and possibly add more aquash and less apple to the dish to make it more about the aquash. A guest said it smelled and tasted like apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States