Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is so good, it's like dessert!!! My kids even loved it so much we didn't have any leftovers!! The only changes I made were to add an extra apple (5 total) and leave out the onion. Also, layer the squash (diced in small cubes) on the bottom with the apples (diced in large chunks) on top. Don't stir until right before serving in order to keep the apples from getting too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I was skeptical about serving this dish for part of our Christmas dinner since I had never made it before, but I was pleasantly surprised. In fact, it turned out to be my favorite part of the meal. The only thing that I did differently was I only cooked it on high for about three hours, and then turned it down to low until we were ready to eat. I think if I had left it on high the whole time the squash would have been too mushy. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Yummy fall side dish! I did make a few small changes. I omitted the onion and added 2 tablespoons honey instead. I cooked everything without the apples for about 6 hours on low. I then added the apples for an additional 2 hours on low. It was delicious and the squash and apples were evenly consistent in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksobgynrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Mine was done in 3 hours. It smelled heavenly as it cooked. I also added some maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, and a little melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Tried this one for Christmas. It sounds delicious. I thought the spices overpowered the squash too much. Next time, I would decrease the amount of nutmeg and possibly add more aquash and less apple to the dish to make it more about the aquash. A guest said it smelled and tasted like apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was alright. The squash and the apple mixed together beautifully and really complimented Christmas dinner...Something wasn't quite right about it though. If I make it again, I will probably try it without the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettybelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
it was good, but I think it would have been better if I had cooked it for less time--probably because I halved the recipe and cooked it in my small cooker. It was great to have the squash and apples combined. I think less cook time and sprinkle with candied pecans would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was really good. I added about 1/3 can of whole berry cranberry sauce and a little salt. We had it with baked ham. I used golden delicious apples. The apple got done a lot sooner than the squash. Next time I will try to choose an apple that holds it shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I would give this 4 stars for ease and tastieness, and 2 for appearance. I think the recipe as stated is wrong. Mine was done in half the time... everything got mushy because of this. Next time I will keep it on low the entire time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Easy, flavorful side dish. Next time, I will add a full cup of dried cranberries. This dish was a great addition to our holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States