Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This dish earns its stars for flavor..... as long as you leave OUT the onion! (The dish has a sweet and fruity flavor, so I'm not sure how onion helps that??) The trick to success is to ONLY ADD THE APPLE DURING THE LAST HOUR of cooking! Butternut squash takes much longer to cook than apples..... thus by adding them in the last hour, they both have good consistency -- NO mushy apples! .....Everyone has their own preference for spices. My family likes this: 1/2 cup honey, 1 T. cinnamon, 1/8 t. nutmeg. After this is loaded into the crock pot with the squash and craisins, pour in 1 cup apple cider to add liquid to the recipe. The flavors work GREAT together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was very good. I had to use fresh cranberries instead of dried. Cooked it for 3 minutes in the pressure cooker. I served it with cheese and crusty bread as a light dinner. The sweet, tangy and savoury flavours proved to be a wonderful side dish. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this as a side dish for Christmas. It was easy to make and tasted great but...you really only need a little on a plate. It reminds me of a side of cranberry for thanksgiving. Taste is sweet. I followed the recipe and did not change a thing. I did let it set and only mixed it the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I didn't care for it, but that just may be my own personal tastebuds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICRE8ARCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this for the first time tonight, with some adjustments and it was AMAZING!I will definitely be making this again and again! I omitted the onion, placed the squash in the bottom of the crockpot drizzled it with organic honey a tablespoon of cinnamon and a 1/2 tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice. I used Fuji apples instead and left the skin on, after I put those in the crockpot I duplicated what I had done previously with the honey and spices, finally I topped it with chopped dates and let it cook on high for roughly 3 hours. After mixing it I let it cook on low for another hour. Like I said AMAZING! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
As written, I'd give it 3 stars, but with a little tweaking, it's a 4 1/2. As written, it was WAY too much cinnamon and nutmeg. I use about half and it's perfect. I also like to make it a little heavier on the apples. My apples always get a little mushy, but I don't mind that - makes it applesauce-ish for the kiddos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This stuff turned to mush in 4 hrs in my crock pot. Maybe there's someting wrong with my crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious! I could eat it as a dessert and not a side and not feel like I'm missing out. A clean alternative to apple pie! After just 2.5 hours, it did get mushy. I also omitted the onions. As if the dish wasn't yummy enough, I loved the way my apartment smelled while it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
smelled great but no one cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this today for Thxgiving Dinner. The apples were mushy by 3 hours on high. I plan to cook the squash/ cranberries for a good hour and a half prior to adding the apples next time I make it. I added 2 tbsp of honey and found the taste pleasantly sweet. And yes the onions were omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States