Savory Slow-Cooked Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Even my pickiest eater loved this. Will be making it again. Thinking about adding some white wine in the sauce next time for an added zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Viera, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was excellent. I had some misgivings when I put it in the crockpot this morning because it didn't seem like it had enough liquid to cover the chicken, so I actually added just 3 chicken thighs, about half of what the recipe called for. I used 1/2 C chicken broth, 1/2C white wine. I only used 1 onion. When I served it, it was very liquidy and I realized too late I had forgotten the cornstarch mixture, which I think must be essential. I also didn't brown the chicken, and I put it in the crockpot frozen. I cooked on low for 10 hours until I got home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Made this for my girlfriend for a nice romantic evening together and it went over very well with a nice Cabernet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!!!! I sprinkled grated cheese on top which aded to the alread delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was a good basic recipe. I made the following modifications. I seasoned the chicken breasts with garlic powder, salt and pepper then browned it in olive oil/butter. I added the chopped onions to the skillet and cooked until tender. I made in the sauce in the crockpot as instructed but added 2 low salt chicken bouillion cubes and some red pepper flakes. I didn't add the peppers and mushroms until half of the cooking was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made this recipe exactly, and found it a little bland. I really like the idea of slow cooker cacciatore, so next time I think I'll keep the skin on and brown it nicely, add plenty of salt to the crock pot, and maybe more Italian seasoning. I neglected to cut the spine out of the chicken pieces, and the little bones ended up everywhere, so beware when using bone-in chicken! It was very tender when done, so the chicken was falling off the bone and leaving the rest of the bone in the pot. Not so great for the kiddos eating it. I think with a few tweaks this could be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herbalpath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was not very good. It's much tastier and of better consistency with vegetables crisper and meat tender but more firm if you use the same ingredients and just do it on the stove. It only takes a little longer than the prep time for putting ingredients in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Ok, I listened to the comments and decided that I would spice this up by adding some Italian Seasoning, basil, hot pepper flakes, and extra garlic. I browned the meat first. It still tasted bland after cooking for 6 hours in the crock pot. In all fairness, I haven't found a chicken cacciatore recipe yet that I liked so maybe its me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I am not a big fan of the slow cooker for most things but in an effort to have Cacciatore on a weeknight I gave this a try. The best thing I can say is that the chicken was well cooked. The sauce, for all it's ingredients, was almost flavorless and seemed under seasoned. My conclusions are as follows: 1st and foremost, Chicken Cacciatore requires browned chicken. In this recipe the skin is removed to avoid all the fat that would render during the 7 hrs in the pot. The browning of skin gives a depth of flavor that is sorely missing. 2nd, I think the garlic, onions, peppers and mushrooms need to be sauted. Again, to get the flavors needed for a good Cacciatore. The garlic and onions especially suffer from the lack of being properly sauted. If I were to attempt this recipe again I would spend 15 minutes browning these items before putting them in the pot. I have used this method with other recipes and had results far superior to this recipe. I would not make this again without significant adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I was disappointed with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and the flavor came out rather bland. My husband and I agreed that it seemed to be missing several elements that would have added more flavor. The chicken did turn out very moist though, so the cooking method still seems good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States