Savory Rosemary Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious. Granted, I used this recipe more as a general guide than hard-coded instructions; it turned out great, and I love the fact that this can be used loosely with leftovers. I had the better part of a rosemary potato loaf left over and used that along with some herbed cheese that had gone untouched for quite some time. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Super. I used whole milk instead of the more fattening stuff. I also added kale and butternut squash (sauted before hand) and it was simply yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Awesome. Everyone's right, this could work with any bread and cheese. I used some 1.5 week old garlic-seasoned bread leftover from a party, and 2 cups of shredded Mexican blend cheeses. I omitted the onion since my guests aren't real fans of onions (I know, what?), and added in a 10 oz. package of frozen spinach (first tried to add it into the pan with the oil and rosemary, but I didn't thaw it ahead of time, so I ended up removing the spinach block and heating it in the microwave, then adding it to the bowl of bread cubes, olive oil, and rosemary). I also just used 2 cups of 1% milk, since that's what I had, and used all 6 eggs. I loved the consistency, though I'm not familiar enough with either quiche or custard to say what it's more like. It was definitely a substantial meal component, accompanied by Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries (without the fries) recipe here by Sandy Witek -- awesome. Next time, I'll try to add in some mushrooms to see if this can be a complete meal in one dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Excellent Recipe! I added in a cup of sauteed mushrooms while tossing and used Fontina cheese...Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I love to serve this as a side dish for an Italian dinner. This wonderful recipe is great just as it is but I do add some things at different times. Add halved cherry tomatoes and toss with the bread. Really tastes good and looks beautiful. I have also added browned bulk sausage or chopped up bacon and serving as a savory breakfast dish. This is really good - and add whatever you have that you like to eat and that cooks well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
WOW! My kids and I loved it! I did add diced deli turkey and diced canned potatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I added a couple twists of my own- garlic, extra cheese, a little thyme. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! I love that I didnt have to follow the recipe exactly but it still turned out great. I hosted a party Saturday where I served this crusty garlic bread with herbed dipping oil. Well, I had a lot of bread left over, as well as oil that had been sitting with the herbs in it. So I substituted the bread and olive oil in this recipe for the bread and olive oil that I had. I used a combination of sharp white chedder and colby jack cheeses. I also just used 2% milk. I didn't have cream, so I just used what I had. I also used dried rosemary because I didn't have fresh rosemary. I added bacon pieces just to give it a little meat. Despite all my substitutions, the dish came out really well. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Made this as 4 servings in a smaller dish, 30 minutes was perfect. I had a sourdough baguette and some herbed goat cheese and it turned out gorgeous. Such a great idea! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was delicious. I used shredded havarti and added diced ham, it was super yummyl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Chef John's Savory Ricotta Tart

A super-simple savory tart loaded with herby, cheesy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States