Savory Rosemary Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! I love that I didnt have to follow the recipe exactly but it still turned out great. I hosted a party Saturday where I served this crusty garlic bread with herbed dipping oil. Well, I had a lot of bread left over, as well as oil that had been sitting with the herbs in it. So I substituted the bread and olive oil in this recipe for the bread and olive oil that I had. I used a combination of sharp white chedder and colby jack cheeses. I also just used 2% milk. I didn't have cream, so I just used what I had. I also used dried rosemary because I didn't have fresh rosemary. I added bacon pieces just to give it a little meat. Despite all my substitutions, the dish came out really well. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Super. I used whole milk instead of the more fattening stuff. I also added kale and butternut squash (sauted before hand) and it was simply yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I will probably try it with 1-2 fewer eggs next time, as the consistency was closer to quiche than bread pudding. The flavor was excellent, though, and it will be fun to experiment with different breads and cheeses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Made this as 4 servings in a smaller dish, 30 minutes was perfect. I had a sourdough baguette and some herbed goat cheese and it turned out gorgeous. Such a great idea! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I added a couple twists of my own- garlic, extra cheese, a little thyme. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was delicious. I used shredded havarti and added diced ham, it was super yummyl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Awesome. Everyone's right, this could work with any bread and cheese. I used some 1.5 week old garlic-seasoned bread leftover from a party, and 2 cups of shredded Mexican blend cheeses. I omitted the onion since my guests aren't real fans of onions (I know, what?), and added in a 10 oz. package of frozen spinach (first tried to add it into the pan with the oil and rosemary, but I didn't thaw it ahead of time, so I ended up removing the spinach block and heating it in the microwave, then adding it to the bowl of bread cubes, olive oil, and rosemary). I also just used 2 cups of 1% milk, since that's what I had, and used all 6 eggs. I loved the consistency, though I'm not familiar enough with either quiche or custard to say what it's more like. It was definitely a substantial meal component, accompanied by Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries (without the fries) recipe here by Sandy Witek -- awesome. Next time, I'll try to add in some mushrooms to see if this can be a complete meal in one dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Excellent! I made this with 2 week old bread (really) that had raisins and oats... and it was excellent. I halved the eggs and milk/cream and baked it for 45 min. Thanks! this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I loved this dish. My husband wasn't quite as crazy about it, but I suspect it was because I used it as a side dish and it seemed out of context with the pairing. I would definitely make it again - it would be great for a brunch. The flavors were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I made this with feta for a work brunch and it was a big hit! Delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States