Savory Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This recipe was a hit with my (steak and potatoes kind of) husband, Dad, 1-year old, 3-year old, 16-year old. We didn't have wine on hand so I used vermouth. For the veggies, I used parsnips, carrots, onions, turnips, beets and garlic. I also made a regular similar dish that doesn't use the beets just in case I had some fussy ones about the beets. Turns out I didn't need to. I think the kids were attracted to the bright color and then realized they liked it. I did forget to use the salt and pepper in the end. I will definitely try again. I will also try a little higher temp next time too to get the veggies to brown and crisp a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I forgot the garlic and it would have been better if I had remembered it but I found the flavor to be very one dimensional - thyme. It was just OK and I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made these for Thanksgiving. Nobody even finished what was on their plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Photo by justfree
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Delicious. Versital recipe change based on what ingredients you have in the house: use red/green/white onions, sweet potatoes/yams, red/white potatoes, brussel sprouts/cauliflower, red or green cabbage, rutabaga/parsnips/turnips. red/yellow/green peppers. No beet greens? I used chopped fresh spinach leaves. Use 1/8 cup balsamic AND 1/4 cup white wine mixture. Perfect!! I paired this meal with Rachael Rae's Braised Chicken Sausages. It is a perfect pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StacySnook
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was fantastic! Like other reviewers I adding a splash of balsamic vinegar. I also added a tablespoon of pepper flakes. I didn't have beet greens, so I topped it with a little bit of chapped fresh parsley. Served over a combination of white rice and quinoa this was a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacySnook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I did the beets with carrots in my West Bend slow cooker to avoid heating the oven on a hot summer day and it turned out great! I also used my food chopper to do the onions and all the stems from the greens and sauteed them all with the garlic and some fresh ginger in coconut oil. Definitely a keeper and I will plant more beets this week. Even my hubby who doesn't like beets ate it with some balsamic vinegar and thought it "interesting" and would eat again as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is a real winner! The fact it's so versatile makes it even more appealing. I cooked mine covered for almost an hour at 400 degrees, added the greens and cooked uncovered for about 15 more minutes. Served it over steamed jasmine rice with a side of Thai cucumbers. Perfect for Meatless Monday's, vegans or vegetarians. Liked the addition of balsamic vinegar too! Pink veggies are pretty unusual don't ya' know!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Just got back from the potluck that I brought this dish to. It was a HIT. I was late, so the dish was actually served cold. It was still wonderful. I roasted the beets seperately and added them at the last minute, so all the vegetables still had thier own color. I used beets, rutabega, turnip, carrot, sweet potato, russet potato, greens (kale), red onion, chick peas (made my own, not canned). I used the olive oil and italian seasoning (with thyme) and dry white wine (Kendal Jackson Chardonay to be excact). It was wonderful. These vegetables are full of flavor; roasting enhances the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Loved it. I made it with no beets and added celery and a rutabaga. I had no white wine so made it with sherry cooking wine. Delicious and easy. Just chop and mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is a great recipe! Awesome way to eat some veggies that I don't usually eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States