Savory Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is a very good recipe, but I'm afraid it wasn't enough to convert my beet-hating husband. Be sure to follow the recipe amounts very closely. I made the mistake of adding too much diced beet into the dish, and it overwhelmed the potatoes and carrots a little. However, if you already like beets (like my son and I) then you will really enjoy this dish. I grated fresh mozzarella cheese and sprinkled it on top right before serving. Very yummy! I'll be sure to make it again - if my hubbie is out for the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was very good and my 20-month old son liked it, too. I used a red onion and added a shallot and some spinach. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Taking the advice of others, I also added a splash of good balsamic vinegar to the recipe. The recent heat had made my beet greens bitter, so I just harvested the beet and instead of greens, added some freshly picked peas during the last 5 minutes. Very tasty but would only work really well with very fresh peas. I added a small early red onion from the garden with a small Juane onion instead of just one big yellow onion. I would never have thought of this recipe for myself and it is a keeper. The chiogga beets give it a very pleasing visual appearance and mellow sweetness. Definitely will change your mind on what you think of beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristyACB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Good quick solution for beets. Also can be modified depending on the root veggies you have around. I prefer it without the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Fantastic! Forgot the beans, but added celeriac (cubed), sunchokes & parsnips to the beets, onions, potatoes & carrots. The wine, added at the end, mingles with the carmelized veggie flavors & adds a delicious punch. If you didn't taste the wine, you didn't add enough. I baked 15-20 min, added wine, stirred/turned, which caused the wine to sizzle & boil down almost immediately. Back for 5-10 min & done. Gorgeous. My husband & sons, who don't love beets, loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I just made this for dinner tonight and it was so super great. I used purple and orange beets that didn't have stems attached, added sweet potatoes and about a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. I didn't have any white wine so I substituted it with chicken broth and a bit of lemon juice. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Too good. Delicious! Only changed the white wine to 1 part white wine vinegar and 3 parts water. This is really really good, beet haters will also eat it with pleasure like my husband;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I followed the suggestion and added about a T. of balsamic vinegar and sweet potatoes. It was wonderful. I will also use this as a recipe for just beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Wow! I know it's just a bunch of root vegetables, but this was really good. I am not a big fan of beets but the veggies just go so sweet, even the beets weren't well, "beety"... I made a huge batch and served it at Christmas diner and people loved it. The color was beautiful! The only change I made was to omit the chick peas and add parsnips. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Yummy - we loved this! I left out the beet greens because mine were a little on the limp side - and I added about 1 tsp of dried rosemary in place of the thyme (thyme isn't a fave in our house). I didn't find the wine added very much flavor and the chick peas added a great flavor and texture. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States