Savory Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very easy -- most time-consuming was preparing the veggies (I scrub, wash, and sanitize mine). I used carrot greens instead of beet, because the carrots I bought today had tops, and the beet didn't (they were sold out). Still tastes great -- a healthy dish that I can heat up as leftovers for my next two very busy days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I add white sweet potato, sweet potato, parsnips and serve over quinoa. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
We love this recipe! It's healthy and can be adapted to any veggies on hand. Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Served with standing rib roast for Christmas dinner. A very good compliment to the beef (and also the red wine). A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Perfect everytime. People ask me to make this now, I love making it and I love eating it. The chick peas threw me off at first but are a staple for this dish.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Delicious! I did omit the chickpeas and beet greens (mine were the bagged kind sold without the greens). I used the vegetables the recipe called for, but in different amounts. The dish was nicely seasoned. I've never had roasted beets before, just the pickled sort and they are way better than I imagined! My vegetables didn't turn too pink, just a light tinge. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Liked the combination of vegetables. I used fresh thyme since that's what I had, but obviously didn't use enough as it really needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is a very good recipe, but I'm afraid it wasn't enough to convert my beet-hating husband. Be sure to follow the recipe amounts very closely. I made the mistake of adding too much diced beet into the dish, and it overwhelmed the potatoes and carrots a little. However, if you already like beets (like my son and I) then you will really enjoy this dish. I grated fresh mozzarella cheese and sprinkled it on top right before serving. Very yummy! I'll be sure to make it again - if my hubbie is out for the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was very good and my 20-month old son liked it, too. I used a red onion and added a shallot and some spinach. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Taking the advice of others, I also added a splash of good balsamic vinegar to the recipe. The recent heat had made my beet greens bitter, so I just harvested the beet and instead of greens, added some freshly picked peas during the last 5 minutes. Very tasty but would only work really well with very fresh peas. I added a small early red onion from the garden with a small Juane onion instead of just one big yellow onion. I would never have thought of this recipe for myself and it is a keeper. The chiogga beets give it a very pleasing visual appearance and mellow sweetness. Definitely will change your mind on what you think of beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristyACB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States