Savory Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is a real winner! The fact it's so versatile makes it even more appealing. I cooked mine covered for almost an hour at 400 degrees, added the greens and cooked uncovered for about 15 more minutes. Served it over steamed jasmine rice with a side of Thai cucumbers. Perfect for Meatless Monday's, vegans or vegetarians. Liked the addition of balsamic vinegar too! Pink veggies are pretty unusual don't ya' know!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Just got back from the potluck that I brought this dish to. It was a HIT. I was late, so the dish was actually served cold. It was still wonderful. I roasted the beets seperately and added them at the last minute, so all the vegetables still had thier own color. I used beets, rutabega, turnip, carrot, sweet potato, russet potato, greens (kale), red onion, chick peas (made my own, not canned). I used the olive oil and italian seasoning (with thyme) and dry white wine (Kendal Jackson Chardonay to be excact). It was wonderful. These vegetables are full of flavor; roasting enhances the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Loved it. I made it with no beets and added celery and a rutabaga. I had no white wine so made it with sherry cooking wine. Delicious and easy. Just chop and mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is a great recipe! Awesome way to eat some veggies that I don't usually eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I'm always looking for ways to incorporate power foods into my husband's meet and potato's diet... I loved this dish but he didn't. I'll definitely make this again for me but will need to continue looking for veggies he will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Love it! What an amazing array of flavor going on in this dish, though I love all these veggies. It's so simple and can be very versatile. I added sweet potato and extra garlic and kale toward the end...and some balsamic vinegar. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Amazing! Will definitely repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hataxa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Served these Christmas day to people who don't eat foods that look like this. They all sampled and loved it! I used sweet potatoes instead of white. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I omitted the white potatoes, because it was for Thanksgiving dinner and there were already two kinds of potatoes on the menu, and substituted parsnips and sweet potatoes. Also, I omitted the garbanzo beans, but only because m husband doesn't like them. I imagine they would be an interesting addition. This was a huge success at our family gathering. I especially liked the colorful addition of the beet greens. I considered adding some purple top turnips to the mix, but was afraid the strong flavor might not appeal to some at a large gathering. I did cook some separately, though, and added them to the leftovers. It was a delicious addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Very tasty. Tried it as a main dish, and I don't think I would do that again, but it would work very well as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Tip for Whitney and Ashley's Roasted Vegetables

Discover a great trick for making simple herb-roasted veggies with no mess.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States