Savory Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Wow, the ingredients and seasonings are simple yet the flavor is fantastic! I used carrots, parsnips, shallots, beets and sweet potatoes. The flavor was lovely and I really liked using the beet greens in the end. I found this recipe just as the leaves are starting to turn...a perfect fall dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I added a delicata squash that I had on hand in addition to the other recipe ingredients. I didn't have wine so I mixed some apple cider vinegar, red wine vinegar and a touch of balsamic vinegar and a bit of cranberry juice. It was a bit tart and pretty sweet because of the vinegars but very very yummy. I can't wait to try it with wine - I think that would add a nice balance. I ate it over barley with a bit of feta sprinkled in. So good and beautiful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Amazing! Something I recommend though is not dicing the potatoes, but cutting them in sixths. This dish should not be served as a main dish, but as a side. This is going to be cooked every Friday from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
LOVE this. It could be easily modified for other ingredients. Not being a beet fan, I wasn't sure about it but the wine, garlic, onions and spices added a lot and balanced the dish. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This recipe was a hit with my (steak and potatoes kind of) husband, Dad, 1-year old, 3-year old, 16-year old. We didn't have wine on hand so I used vermouth. For the veggies, I used parsnips, carrots, onions, turnips, beets and garlic. I also made a regular similar dish that doesn't use the beets just in case I had some fussy ones about the beets. Turns out I didn't need to. I think the kids were attracted to the bright color and then realized they liked it. I did forget to use the salt and pepper in the end. I will definitely try again. I will also try a little higher temp next time too to get the veggies to brown and crisp a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I forgot the garlic and it would have been better if I had remembered it but I found the flavor to be very one dimensional - thyme. It was just OK and I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made these for Thanksgiving. Nobody even finished what was on their plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Photo by justfree
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Delicious. Versital recipe change based on what ingredients you have in the house: use red/green/white onions, sweet potatoes/yams, red/white potatoes, brussel sprouts/cauliflower, red or green cabbage, rutabaga/parsnips/turnips. red/yellow/green peppers. No beet greens? I used chopped fresh spinach leaves. Use 1/8 cup balsamic AND 1/4 cup white wine mixture. Perfect!! I paired this meal with Rachael Rae's Braised Chicken Sausages. It is a perfect pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StacySnook
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was fantastic! Like other reviewers I adding a splash of balsamic vinegar. I also added a tablespoon of pepper flakes. I didn't have beet greens, so I topped it with a little bit of chapped fresh parsley. Served over a combination of white rice and quinoa this was a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacySnook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I did the beets with carrots in my West Bend slow cooker to avoid heating the oven on a hot summer day and it turned out great! I also used my food chopper to do the onions and all the stems from the greens and sauteed them all with the garlic and some fresh ginger in coconut oil. Definitely a keeper and I will plant more beets this week. Even my hubby who doesn't like beets ate it with some balsamic vinegar and thought it "interesting" and would eat again as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Tip for Whitney and Ashley's Roasted Vegetables

Discover a great trick for making simple herb-roasted veggies with no mess.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States