Savory Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Yummy! I made few changes...minced onion and garlic, thyme and sage. I think I would try poultry seasoning next time or fajita seasoning which we love on everything. I used olive oil instead of canola oil and orange slices inside the bird with orange juice squeezed all over the top. I also precooked it at 425 for 20 minutes and then turned it down to 375 for 90 minutes. Very good. Juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiho

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuevo, California, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Family loved it, I threw some cut up red potatoes and brussel sprouts into the bottom of the pan and mixed with the juices for the last hour. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great recipe for "Savory" roasted chicken. I did up the orange a bit and used olive oil vs. canola. I also cut up an orange and placed that into the cavity. There's nothing like the smell of a roast chicken and the taste was just as wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Excellent flavor and chicken was so tender and moist. I'd forgot how delicious a roasted chicken could be. I used fresh spices and they worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Very good. Finely minced 1/2 a small onion and a clover of garlic, mixing with 1t kosher salt and other herbs. Seasoned bird inside and out with this blend and allowed to sit for an hour. Roasted at 450 for 20 minutes and finished off at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Wow, WOw, WOW! This was AMAZING, and soooo beautiful! Use fresh herbs and orange. Huge difference! (just remember to use 3x as much called for) I Used sage, as I didn't have savory. And rubbed triple the olive oil into the skin. Fantastic results, with a flavor that was a little different than my "same-ole, same-ole." Gonna make this for my mother-in-law when we visit. She can't help but like me now! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I mixed rosemary, savory, thyme, salt and pepper into 3/4 cup of real butter. I rubbed that under the skin and on top of the skin. I put a cut up onion and garlic cloves in the cavity. SOOOO MOIST AND DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Mullan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I added more grated orange peel than the recipe called for (most of the peel from 1 orange) and then I cut the orange into quarters and put it inside the body to help keep it moist and add some flavor / aroma. I also added 1/2 t corriander to the herb mix. I baked it uncovered for the last 20 minutes to crisp the skin and it was great! This one is now in our regular meal rotation. Thanks for a great twist on an old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very delicious. It was a great combination of spices with just a hint of orange and I will deffinately make this again. This recipe is going into my family favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is an awesome recipe as written. The only change I made is that I cut the orange in half and put it in th cavity of the chicken, and I used another orange and juiced it over the chicken. So moist and juicy. Did not have savory, so used sage instead. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States