Savory Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
A nice, simple recipe to work with!. However, I skipped the olive oil for baking the squash and used it instead of the butter to sauté the garlic. I used 1 tsp onion powder instead of the onion (I had run out) but I think a 1/2 tsp would have been fine. I also used a whole sweet potato instead of the carrots. And for a lower fat, no cholesterol version, I used a half-cup of Almond milk instead of the heavy cream and cream cheese; I blended it all to create a creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
The whole family loved this soup. My husband and I especially loved it because it was not sweet. This is the best butternut squash soup I have ever made. I did puree it with my stick blender because I preferred that texture and wanted a thicker soup. Also, since I own goats, I make a lot of chevre. I used that instead of the cream cheese, and goat milk instead of the cream. Wonderful recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is the best tasting butternut squash soup I have ever had or made and I've made and had PLENTY! I'm raving about it right now and calling myself the "Master Chef" to my husband! I followed the recipe EXACTLY but used a food processor to chop the onions, garlic, and carrots separately during the process. It came out very chunky and I like it both ways, chunky and pureed and smooth. This was soft tiny chunks and I loved it. So did my husband and my 17 month old daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Grasso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
IT's a great base recipe but its really bland. I added in (lots) of garlic salt, a little nutmeg, and about a tsp of pumpkin pie seasoning and it made it awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I made it this morning. I did, however, added some fresh nutmeg, I saw Michael Smith do that with his butternut squash soup. At the end, but before simmering time, I took my immersion blender to it, because my husband & I enjoy a nice smooth soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This soup had so much flavor! This is a keeper for my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Delicious and healthy too! I added a heaping teaspoon of curry powder to this but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was really bland. I made it for a friend of mine who is sick and is only eating bland food, so it worked out OK for me. I am just not sure how to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States