Savory Rice Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
We've been making these since we were kids. The egg/rice balance is really important - we generally mix the egg and milk, then add rice a bit at a time to be sure we keep things from getting too dry. It needs to be a little soupy for the egg to hold it all together when cooked up. I think day-old rice is better here (just like with fried rice) because of the change in consistency. Also, try leaving out the onion, putting a bit of salt on them when frying, then top them with syrup. We've always done this as a sweet breakfast and not a savory snack. mmmm (either way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great idea. I've found that adding a little flour to thicken it helps a lot. Some fresh onion instead of just powder is great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I had left over brown rice and added leftover frozen veggies that were already cooked. I also added sauteed diced onion. I added a little flour to bind and a little baking powder for lightness...FABULOUS! Brown and crispy outside and light and creamy and fluffy inside. I am not a fan of brown rice(that is why it was leftover) but it worked beautifully for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This wasn't bad, the finished product reminds me of potato pancakes. So topped with sour cream and salsa was a thought to try with them. But I went ahead and sweetened this pancake up with raisins cinnamon and some stevia. Which I enjoyed just eating plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I doubled the recipe and test-tasted the first one off the grill. Really nice flavor although I had trouble getting the "pancakes" to stay together in the pan. I stacked the rest of them with plastic wrap between each one in the fridge so they can be a quick breakfast or snack later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Photo by catmaxwell
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I was expecting this to be a lot more flavorful than it was. It's pretty plain, but it's the kind of mellow flavor where it's still really tasty to eat. I had mine with some ketchup to liven up the flavor a bit. I will make these again. :) But next time I'll find something to add that will really bump up the flavor. I was thinking some garlic salt would be nice. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catmaxwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mam5016
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I cooked my rice the night before and added grated parmesan and some italian seasoned bread crumbs, which really gave this recipe the little flavor kick it was missing. I also browned the butter pretty good before I put the rice patties in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I had leftover rice I wanted to do something and after reading the reviews decided to make more of a breakfast cake. I left out the chives, onion, salt/pepper and added cinnomon, honey and some panko bread crumbs for consistency. I think they turned out perfectly and could be eaten plain, with syrup. honey or fruit topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States