Savory Pumpkin Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I'm so flattered to see this at the top of AR's recent e-mail. I had modified the recipe even more this past weekend and it was a hit at a party. I had adjusted the ingredintes by reducing the pumpkin puree to one cup, used only one can of garbanzo beans and one tablespoon of EVOO, with the rest of the seasonings and ingredients the same as posted. It turned out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I make hummus frequently but this may be my new fav recipe. Modified to one can of beans , one cup pumpkin, and 1/4 t of cayenne because I don't like too much heat. All else the same. Even my teenager who says she doesn't like pumpkin commented that it is really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Nice flavor.. easy... threw it all in the food processor. Needed salt and pepper and more heat for my tastes. Will be using leftovers on chicken wraps for work lunches for the week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Made this to take to Thanksgiving, followed the recipe with the adjustments RedHedd had posted in a review/comment. It was a big hit. The pumpkin taste is not at all overpowering, and the seasoning was flavorful without being too spicy. My husband and daughter are big hummus fans, and definitely gave thumbs up to this recipe. It was our first time making our own hummus, and it came out perfectly. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Wonderful! I made it for our (Canadian) Thanksgiving dinner and served with crudites. I followed the creator RedHedd's suggested modifications. Definitely has a bite with 1/2 tsp of cayenne. One idea is if you make your own tahini (I did) in the food processor, then you can make the hummus right after without washing out the food processor - two birds with one stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
At first thought it was a bit unusual, but decided to give it a try and was pleasantly surprised with the results. Everyone of my guests absolutely loved it. I would love to modify it so it would eliminate the nut factor in the recipe so my other friends that have nut allergies can enjoy it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe! I made it exactly as written and found it perfect! I made it for a group of friends and everyone wanted the recipe. I am picky when it comes to "good" hummus and this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I am not a fan of hummus but I received an assignment to provide refreshments for an upcoming Christmas event and this recipe caught my eye. I followed RedHedd's updated suggestion and used 1 cup of pumpkin and 1 can of Garbanzo beans, increased the oil to 2 Tbsp. and kept everything else the same. Wow this was awesome I made pita chips also from this site and served them to my family for their opinion....All said 5 star even my kids. I am confident when I make this for 300 people next month it will be a HIT....Thanks RedHedd for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo Merrill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is the first recipe I've reviewed, out of dozens tried, because I love it SO MUCH! I followed RedHedd's revisions in the Dec 19, 2012 review to use one can of chickpeas and half a can of pureed pumpkin, and it's phenominal - though I don't like heat, so no cayenne pepper. It's not an overpowering pumpkin flavor, but the pumpkin makes it just a touch sweeter than other hummus varieties I've tried (zucchini, beet, cucumber...). I was torn between a sweeter version of pumpkin hummus on AllRecipes with pumpkin spice, etc. instead of cumin, etc., but this is a perfect combination of flavors for a hummus that works wonderfully as a veggie dip, sandwich spread, or just straight out of the container ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was really good. I served it as an appetizer on Thanksgiving this year. I wasn't happy with the seasoning. To me, it was a little bland with the recipe (however, I like things with a zing). So, I would recommend you make the recipe as stated. Taste it and add what you like. I added 2 more garlic cloves, cayenne pepper and a little more lemon juice and it fit my tastebuds, but this was excellent, healthy, and full of fiber. This is something you can make throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States