Savory Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this last night and my husband could not get enough of it! I had some herb butter on hand and gave the onions a very quick sautee in the melted butter before mixing with the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bambam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I sauted the onion and increased the salt to 1 tsp., the white pepper to 1/2 tsp., added 1/4 tsp. Rosemary, 1/2 tsp. Savory, and 1/4 c. Parmesan cheese. Yum yum!! Will make again! baked for 40 min, still somewhat watery, but just use a slotted spoon to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this last fall and LOVED it! So creamy, perfect healthy substitute for mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very yummy savory recipe. This recipe is a keeper. I added 2 Tablespoons chopped fresh sage and 1/8 tsp. nutmeg to the egg mixture before pouring over the pumpkin. Also mixed 1 cup panko crumbs and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese and sprinkled that over the top before baking. It was most delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was amazing- I used a pumpkin fresh from the garden so it did have a hint of sweet. I used monterey jack and parmesan cheeses since it was what I had-- I will do the same next time. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly minus salt and pepper to taste rather than measuring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This recipe was wonderful! I followed it exactly and my whole family raved about how delicious the dish turned out. We really enjoyed it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kneece Camp
Home Town: Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and it turned out great! Made it just as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Great recipe. Thanks! I used red kuri instead of pumpkin, upped the butter content to 1/4C, increased salt to 1 tsp., seasoned the squash and onions with fresh rosemary and marjoram leaves, and topped it off with parmesan cheese. I think if I make it again (which I probably will) I'll cut down on the ricotta and add some gorgonzola or bleu cheese in its place -- the squash and onions were very flavorful, but the ricotta filling was a little bland for my taste. Totally worth making, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I expected sweet, but got savory. I had fried the onions in the butter before adding the pumpkin. Very tasty when you get over the fact that this isn't sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I thought this was pretty great, but my kids were not impressed. I sauteed the onion with some garlic in the butter first, and I think this really made the dish. In fact, I will add more garlic next time. Skinning the pumpkin is a pain, and my friend who is a chef said to try cooking it right in the pumpkin halved. I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States