Savory Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I took this recipe to a multicultural potluck. it was rated as okay, people said it needed more salt and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This recipe was wonderful! I followed it exactly and my whole family raved about how delicious the dish turned out. We really enjoyed it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kneece Camp
Home Town: Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I needed to use up some pumpkin and ricotta cheese so imagine my delight to find this recipe! My pumpin was pre-cooked so I fried the onion in a pan with olive oil (instead of butter), spread it out ontop of the pumpkin and then poured the cheese mix on top and baked for 20 minutes. I had a bit less than the 3/4 cup of ricotta so used parmesan to make up the difference. It was not runny (I was worried as another poster made that comment) at all (I'd already considered trying it with bread crumbs next time but don't need to). It had a nice flavour but next time I'll cut the pumpkin pieces smaller. Mine were about 1.5" square and that was definitely too big. It looks much nicer than the picture by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very yummy savory recipe. This recipe is a keeper. I added 2 Tablespoons chopped fresh sage and 1/8 tsp. nutmeg to the egg mixture before pouring over the pumpkin. Also mixed 1 cup panko crumbs and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese and sprinkled that over the top before baking. It was most delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I sauted the onion and increased the salt to 1 tsp., the white pepper to 1/2 tsp., added 1/4 tsp. Rosemary, 1/2 tsp. Savory, and 1/4 c. Parmesan cheese. Yum yum!! Will make again! baked for 40 min, still somewhat watery, but just use a slotted spoon to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was a good but not great recipe. It was a nice change to use up that extra pumpkin from our garden as a side dish instead of a pumpkin dessert or soup. Both my husband and I like this but it turned out rather watery. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmecky78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this recipe as written and no one cared for it. It was bland. I took the left overs and mixed in garlic salt then topped with Italian bread crumbs and Parm. It turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this last fall and LOVED it! So creamy, perfect healthy substitute for mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was amazing- I used a pumpkin fresh from the garden so it did have a hint of sweet. I used monterey jack and parmesan cheeses since it was what I had-- I will do the same next time. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly minus salt and pepper to taste rather than measuring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I thought this was pretty great, but my kids were not impressed. I sauteed the onion with some garlic in the butter first, and I think this really made the dish. In fact, I will add more garlic next time. Skinning the pumpkin is a pain, and my friend who is a chef said to try cooking it right in the pumpkin halved. I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States