Savory Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This recipe was wonderful! I followed it exactly and my whole family raved about how delicious the dish turned out. We really enjoyed it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kneece Camp
Home Town: Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I took this recipe to a multicultural potluck. it was rated as okay, people said it needed more salt and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I expected sweet, but got savory. I had fried the onions in the butter before adding the pumpkin. Very tasty when you get over the fact that this isn't sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and it turned out great! Made it just as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was good, but the baked onion was too strong for me. If I make it again, I'll saute the onions first. I added fresh sage and rosemary, and some pecorino romano. Nice flavor and good texture, and easy to make (aside from peeling the pumpkin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was a good but not great recipe. It was a nice change to use up that extra pumpkin from our garden as a side dish instead of a pumpkin dessert or soup. Both my husband and I like this but it turned out rather watery. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmecky78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I needed to use up some pumpkin and ricotta cheese so imagine my delight to find this recipe! My pumpin was pre-cooked so I fried the onion in a pan with olive oil (instead of butter), spread it out ontop of the pumpkin and then poured the cheese mix on top and baked for 20 minutes. I had a bit less than the 3/4 cup of ricotta so used parmesan to make up the difference. It was not runny (I was worried as another poster made that comment) at all (I'd already considered trying it with bread crumbs next time but don't need to). It had a nice flavour but next time I'll cut the pumpkin pieces smaller. Mine were about 1.5" square and that was definitely too big. It looks much nicer than the picture by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I took this to a pumpkin party and no one really enjoyed this, I think it needs more spices, but don't know just yet what I would do to spice this dish up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I sauted the onion and increased the salt to 1 tsp., the white pepper to 1/2 tsp., added 1/4 tsp. Rosemary, 1/2 tsp. Savory, and 1/4 c. Parmesan cheese. Yum yum!! Will make again! baked for 40 min, still somewhat watery, but just use a slotted spoon to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this last night and my husband could not get enough of it! I had some herb butter on hand and gave the onions a very quick sautee in the melted butter before mixing with the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States