Savory Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this last night and my husband could not get enough of it! I had some herb butter on hand and gave the onions a very quick sautee in the melted butter before mixing with the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bambam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This recipe was wonderful! I followed it exactly and my whole family raved about how delicious the dish turned out. We really enjoyed it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kneece Camp
Home Town: Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and it turned out great! Made it just as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I sauted the onion and increased the salt to 1 tsp., the white pepper to 1/2 tsp., added 1/4 tsp. Rosemary, 1/2 tsp. Savory, and 1/4 c. Parmesan cheese. Yum yum!! Will make again! baked for 40 min, still somewhat watery, but just use a slotted spoon to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very yummy savory recipe. This recipe is a keeper. I added 2 Tablespoons chopped fresh sage and 1/8 tsp. nutmeg to the egg mixture before pouring over the pumpkin. Also mixed 1 cup panko crumbs and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese and sprinkled that over the top before baking. It was most delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was amazing- I used a pumpkin fresh from the garden so it did have a hint of sweet. I used monterey jack and parmesan cheeses since it was what I had-- I will do the same next time. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly minus salt and pepper to taste rather than measuring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this last fall and LOVED it! So creamy, perfect healthy substitute for mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Great recipe. Thanks! I used red kuri instead of pumpkin, upped the butter content to 1/4C, increased salt to 1 tsp., seasoned the squash and onions with fresh rosemary and marjoram leaves, and topped it off with parmesan cheese. I think if I make it again (which I probably will) I'll cut down on the ricotta and add some gorgonzola or bleu cheese in its place -- the squash and onions were very flavorful, but the ricotta filling was a little bland for my taste. Totally worth making, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I expected sweet, but got savory. I had fried the onions in the butter before adding the pumpkin. Very tasty when you get over the fact that this isn't sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I thought this was pretty great, but my kids were not impressed. I sauteed the onion with some garlic in the butter first, and I think this really made the dish. In fact, I will add more garlic next time. Skinning the pumpkin is a pain, and my friend who is a chef said to try cooking it right in the pumpkin halved. I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States