Savory Portobello Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Wonderful flavor and texture. I'm a die hard burger girl and was prepared to hate this. One bite and I was a complete convert! Followed recipe exactly, but brushed them with marinade 2 hrs before. Used hamburger thins rather than rolls, and topped them with roasted red peppers and Tex-Mex cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneRoberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
awesome! tasted like steak! Great for the "eat your heart out" diet on veggie days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Awesome! I used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic. Worcestershire is a must. Topped with grilled red onions and used spicy ranch dressing instead of ketchup / mustard. DE-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I didn't want to grill these lovely mushrooms, so I doubled the sauce ingredients and smothered the tops in the sauce and baked them at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes! They were just scrumptious, a favorite with my teenagers, and they keep asking me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I've never had a Portabello Mushroom before and wasn't sure what to expect. I have to say, Wonderful! I loved it. It really tasted like a burger. The seasoning was great. I will say I didn't grill but pan fried. After the mushroom was cooked I put it on the bun with a couple of slices of mozzarella and used spinach leaves instead of lettuce with a little mayo. Left off the ketchup and mustard as not to take away the taste of the burger. Excellent, the cheese and spinach went perfect with the mushroom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is my favorite go-to healthy recipe! I started making this last summer on the grill and moved it in to the broiler over the winter. Timing is all going to depend on your mushrooms, though. The thicker they are, the longer they take to cook, but that's a given. If you aren't keeping a close eye on them you can end up with charred mushrooms. I recommend going by the suggested times in the recipe and flipping again and cooking for 3 min per side, if they still aren't tender in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Delicious..with roasted red pepper and goat cheese! Will make again...it will be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Excellent! Even our non-vegetarian family loved it. Great recipe for vegans, too. We melted some provolone on top for the meat-eaters. Everyone loved the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karindpowell

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is the best!!! Very flavorful. My 5 yr old even loved it! So easy, that my husband and 5 yr old made it (without my help)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States