Savory Portobello Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This is one of those recipes that, if I could give it 10 stars, I would. The first 5 for the recipe as printed, with the portabella mushrooms. The next 5 for the marinade/dressing. I first followed the recipe as written, except that I baked the mushrooms as another reviewer suggested: 400 degrees, about 15 minutes. They were wonderful; I can only imagine how good they would be grilled. Then I used the dressing on a spinach/tomato salad, Equally wonderful. Then I modified it a bit: used stone ground mustard, added about 2 tablespoons of finely grated parmesan cheese, and used THAT on the mushrooms. Again, fantastic. It's just the right combination of oil/vinegar/mustard to form a lovely consistency and balance of flavors. Even though the worchestershire sauce is labeled as "optional", I really think it adds a complexity of flavor. All in all a great recipe. Definitely saved...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
These are good, but I feel they needed something. Not sure what though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Delicious ! May marinate mushrooms a bit longer for additional flavor. Cooked in the oven at 400 degrees for twenty minutes. Served with fresh red onion slices, lettuce and provolone cheese. Will definitely have again. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Gallant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Love these, even for us meat eaters! My husband now just loves to marinate the mushrooms, grill them and eat them as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I didn't want to grill these lovely mushrooms, so I doubled the sauce ingredients and smothered the tops in the sauce and baked them at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes! They were just scrumptious, a favorite with my teenagers, and they keep asking me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awakenedone

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is my favorite go-to healthy recipe! I started making this last summer on the grill and moved it in to the broiler over the winter. Timing is all going to depend on your mushrooms, though. The thicker they are, the longer they take to cook, but that's a given. If you aren't keeping a close eye on them you can end up with charred mushrooms. I recommend going by the suggested times in the recipe and flipping again and cooking for 3 min per side, if they still aren't tender in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I've never had a Portabello Mushroom before and wasn't sure what to expect. I have to say, Wonderful! I loved it. It really tasted like a burger. The seasoning was great. I will say I didn't grill but pan fried. After the mushroom was cooked I put it on the bun with a couple of slices of mozzarella and used spinach leaves instead of lettuce with a little mayo. Left off the ketchup and mustard as not to take away the taste of the burger. Excellent, the cheese and spinach went perfect with the mushroom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Flavor-wise the recipe is spot on. Time wise it is WAY off and hence the lower rating for this recipe and mine burned badly in 5 minutes. I should have known better because medium high heat on my grill is very hot, so know your grill. Will try again on a much lower heat because the fourth of one mushroom that I saved was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Classic and delicious way to prepare the mushroom for cooking! I added just a touch of spicy mustard to it too, added a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I didn't think this recipe had as much flavor as I was hoping for. My husband, a meat lover, was impressed though. I will probably try it again. Using a dense bread is best (i.e. hoagie bun) because the juices soak into the bread quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States