Savory Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly as written. It had good flavor and it was even better the next day. The only problem for me was the cooking time wasn't nearly long enough. My potatoes(which I diced) were still hard and even the peppers were a little crunchy. And I needed to add cornstarch to the broth to make it thick, as it was more soup-like. Next time I'd let this cook all day, 8-10 hours on low. Maybe add a few more spices to kick it up a bit. Not that it needs it, just sometimes we like our stew a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Have made this stew twice and found it both tasty and a good change of pace if you like stews. Two changes I would absolutely suggest: cook much longer (5-6 hrs on high, 10-12 hrs on low) and add the milk in the last hour. I researched adding milk to slow cookers and this prevents curdling/or separating. Like others, I adapted ingredients to what was on hand, adding carrots and cannellini beans in place of the peppers. As in all my crockpot stews, I used 3 Tbl quick-cooking (Minute brand) tapioca for thickening instead of cornstarch, though I did coat the meat with flour before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This was a great stew! I added celery and did not use the cornstarch. I cooked it in the crock pot for 8 hours on low. I think if you're only going to cook for 2 hours you should boil the potatoes for about 10 minutes before placing in the crock pot or they may not get soft enough. I really liked the italian seasonings and the cream of mushroom soup gave it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I had a bunch of pork that I needed to use. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I have to admit that I used what I had. I used turkey stock (homemade, frozen from thanksgiving, and cream of chicken soup. They worked fine. I really liked the milk base. The texture turned out very hearty and it made great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This stew is perfect for a cold autumn day! I changed it a little due to lack of ingredients. I added carrots instead of peppers and corn, and I didn't have canned tomates so I used tomatoe paste and added a little water and it turned out fabulous! I made some homemade buns to go with it, and my family was so impressed! :) I will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This was easy and really good. I did not make it in the slow cooker, but on the stove. However, other than adding extra garlic (because I ALWAYS add extra garlic) I followed the recipe. REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is a great crock pot meal. I made it two or three times last winter, with a few recommended modifications. I added a can of black beans, as well as carrots and fresh garlic, and cooked it most of the day in the crock pot--the flavor just improves. It's a good way to use cheaper cuts of meat and the beans give it a southwestern flair and improve the meal value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is a fine recipe. Because it is a stew a crockpot is best to keep it from burning. But the cook time is off by about 2.5 hours. Set your crock to high to get the stew to bubble then lower it and cook for another 3.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I also added potatoes and put the whole thing in the crock pot after browning the pork. came out tender, but soupy. May put sour cream to make it creamier...but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I wasn't too sure about this at first - even though I added way more garlic, pepper and Italian seasoning, I found it to be incredibly bland and boring. However, by the time I dished it up in the evening, it was much more flavorsome. Other than upping the seasoning, the only other change I made was to use creamed corn as that's what I had on hand. Not bad at all. Thanks, Mitzy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States