Savory Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Great recipe, cooked all day in the crockpot, then pureed some of the broth and veggies to make it thicker. Plenty of potatoes so used those instead of adding more cornstarch. Will be making this again with a few changes. Add carrots and celery, use cream corn instead of cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Fabulous! I loved this stew. It was even better the next day. Here are my changes: I only added 1/2 cup peppers. I added chopped carrots, potatoes, and celery. Wonderful way to use pork! Very, very tasty. Wonderful comfort food. I can't say enough about this delicious meal, and the best part is it's made in a crock pot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This stew turned out beautifully with a few minor adjustments. I used only red bell peppers and at the end of cooking time I added a few tablespoons of cornstarch mixed with a little of the stew liquid. It made the stew have a nicer consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Followed recipe as written, little flavor. Probably won't make again. Very dissapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This recipe was really good. I didnt have beef broth so used chicken w/ a couple bullion cubes. Everybody liked it at my house. A good chowder-y flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I took this GREAT recipe and created a Southwestern version: I had some leftover boiled red potatoes, so I chopped them up, added fresh corn cut off the cob, added sliced carrots, used chicken broth instead of beef; added 3 cloves minced garlic, 1 can of green chilis and instead of Italian sseasoning, seasoned with about 2 tsp. ground cumin and 1 Tblsp. chili powder, plus squeezed in juice of one Key lime (bottled juice would work if you can't grow them)and a few shakes of hot sauce to taste. Cooked on low in Crock Pot for almost 11 hours (just because we got home late), and then added a mixture of about 1/4 c. corn starch to 1/2 c. water to the crock pot and let it thicken to gravy consistency. We all loved this! If I weren't trying to lose weight, I would top with sour cream! I would also consider skipping potatoes and serving over rice for another version, but as hubby said, "This is a Make-Again!" Thanks for the inspiration, Mitzy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I used leftover pork roast, potatoes and carrots I had cooked in the oven a few days earlier, so skipped the browning stage. Added all the other ingredients, but used evaporated milk in place of regular milk, as its consistency usually keeps you from needing to add additional thickener. This was really good, and as I did it on the stove-top, I just threw it all together and heated to serve; very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I thought this was excellent! I used a few more potatoes, added carrots, low-fat soup and cooked it in the crock-pot for 8 hours on low based on some of the other reviews. I added the milk an hour before it was done. It turned out great! The meat was soooo tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made this exactly as written, and even though I have a very large crockpot, I could barely fit it all in. The recipe calls for '8 Red Potatoes' but it should probably read '6 medium red potatoes, cubed' because that's all that would fit. Also, like many other reviewers, I noticed the cooktime to be way off. After the first hour on high, the crockpot hadn't started bubbling at all. I cooked it for 5 1/2 hours on high and the potatoes were still hard -- I should have cut them smaller. Overall, it was soupy but it thickened up and tasted better the second day. I threw in some carrots and 3 boneless pork chops for meal #2 and it was better. I didn't like this dish enough to make it a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Never have much luck finding recipes that I really love but this was one of them! Excellent, flavorful and filling. I had no beef broth so used chicken; I added celery and carrots. Did NOT cook it in the crockpot as recipe stated. Cooked it on the stove bringing it to a boil and them simmering until potatos were done. My broth was perfect with a nice, thick "stew" texture. Yum, Yum and my hubby agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States